Constrained Writing Contest #10 Example

in #writing7 years ago

This is an example submission for this week's constrained writing contest, hosted by @svashta and judged by myself. Of course, your submission doesn't need to look or feel anything like this! You could structure it, for example, as a dialogue, where two characters ask each other a series of questions.

Questions

Are there some life outcomes that are ‘better’ than others?

What does ‘better’ mean? Would I be happier living in New York and struggling as a writer compared to working in a cubicle at some large corporation in some mid-size and unnotable midwestern city? Would I make more money and have more security working at the company versus jumping from freelance writing job to freelance writing job?

Is there a ‘right’ way to do something?

Would I be happier dating this girl or that girl? Is there such a thing as marrying the right person?

What do I mean when I think of success? Do I think of money? Do I think of relationships and friendships, community? Do I think of happiness?

Does any of it matter? Wouldn’t every choice lead to its own unique set of problems, no matter which choice it is or what I choose? Wouldn’t every choice be tinged with some happiness and some regret? Is it worth it to spend time trying to maximize the proportions of those two emotions? Or is it better to just act than to think, no matter what the action is?

What’s the difference between ‘spending time’ and ‘wasting time?’

How do I learn to trust myself? To trust my gut, to trust my judgement, to trust myself to make the right choices?

Is there any objective measure of ‘better’ life outcomes? Would I be ‘better’ for living in New York and pursuing something I like to do when compared to choosing a corporate job for the security and routine?

Or is every possibility equally valued, every life equally valid and equally valuable?

Sort:  

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need a boost? Click me

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67