I AM SO SO SORRY!!!

in #writing6 years ago

All it takes to get a situation under control most times is just a simple phrase "I am sorry"..

I am sorry for being disrespectful..

I am sorry for not making you feel loved..

I am sorry letting you see the bad side of me..

I am sorry for always talking back at you when I should be listening..

I am sorry for not knowing how to talk...

I am sorry for not knowing how to love you the way I should ...

I am sorry for always being selfish...

I am sorry for the times you called and I never picked...

I am sorry for hurting your feelings...

I am sorry for misunderstanding you...

I am sorry for being too blunt...

I am sorry I stepped out of my boundaries..

I am sorry to offend you the way I did...

I am sorry for not checking up on you even when you needed me the most...

I am sorry that I disappointed you...

I am sorry that I underestimated you..

I am sorry to have used your property without your permission..

I am sorry to have disgraced you in public...

image
pixabay.com

Saying sorry is one thing, and meaning it is another.

It's not enough to just say sorry when you don't actually mean it or use it when you actually offend people on purpose.

The dictionary meaning of sorry is:

A state or feeling of regret or penitence.
Feeling sad or in a pitiful state.

WHY DO PEOPLE FIND IT DIFFICULT TO SAY SORRY?

It's obviously eminent in most individuals to find it expediently difficult to say the phrase"I AM SORRY"... Why so??

  • Pride

  • Ego

  • Temperament

  • frustration

Now, the list above are seemingly very familiar reasons why people find it hard to say sorry. Most of them just tell you it's in their DNA. But I wish to disagree, saying sorry is an act that could be learned, practiced and even taught.

Saying sorry, expresses LOVE, it expresses SUBMISSION, it expresses HUMILITY, it expresses PEACE.

The aura that comes with SORRY is CALMNESS and all it could have taken for a criminal to escape life time in jail was a simple "I am sorry and I plead guilty"...

All it could have taken for a relationship to survive breaking up was a simple "I am sorry"...

All it could have taken to end a war, was a simple" I am sorry"....

In as much as the sorry word heals wounds, stop fights and mend broken hearts, it can also be abused.

HOW DO PEOPLE ABUSE THE WORD "SORRY"?

So being sorry should actually depict that you really mean it and that you are saying it because you did not intentionally offend the person you are saying it to.

It becomes a taboo, an extra offense, an abuse, a fuel to a dying fire and a salt to injury when you say it for saying sake and do not really mean it or when you intentionally offended someone.

If you must say it, then you must mean it.

You don't need to let the situation get so bad before you lower your ego and say it.

It pays to be humble and it pays to be submissive.

A WORD IS ENOUGH FOR THE WISE

Sort:  

Congratulations @desmoniac! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great choice of topic @desmoniac

Indeed it's very hard to learn how to apologize. But knowing how to say "Im sorry" gives you such a powerful tool. People tend to respect and listen to those who are humble enough to use those 2 magic words.

Yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91