Sort:  

Np, btw that bike looks sick! How much did you pay for it? I've been wanting to get into mountain biking but the price tags on those bikes drove me away. Is there an cheap alternative? How much is an entry level bike?

Huh, an entry-level bike (without rear suspension) is probably around 300-400 eur. Bike with decent rear suspension will be from 600 up... the sky is the limit. It is a very expensive sport my friend :) Probably the best option is to buy a used bike. Just make sure to find a good repair shop and to check it before you buy it.

Two of the bikes in the photos are full carbon and their price was around 3k - each. Now their price (as used bikes) is no less than 1600... Still very expensive.
My bike (blue Cube) is aluminum version and it was a little bit cheaper as it was previously used. I bought it from a friend who used it for racing. I could say exact price, but my dear may read this and she believes that I paid this bike 1000 eur... and that's completely true :D

I have a theory (a new one), which is in shortest - you should not buy pro bike if you are not pro rider or you do not have the option to ride extreme courses for most of the year. For guys like me, who really needs a pro bike for 30-40 days during the year, renting is a much better option. Renting a good bike is very affordable, it starts at $15 per day, and goes up to $40 for an electro-assisted bike. Basically, for a price of a pro bike, you can easily ride a rented one for years ;)

I have a bike without a rear suspention and it's raping my butthole every time I ride it. Paid like 500 € for it, Focus, don't know which model. Good bike but no rear suspention and I found out, after riding a friends bike that has it, that it's something I need in life.

I'm crazy about bikes, you should see the way I ride it. My frame is bent from all the shit it's been through and when I took it to the repair shop the guy didn't believe his eyes when he saw it...

I would just love to be able to go down mountain paths with crazy speeds, but that is something I can only dream of with the bike I currently own. Think it would either break in half or cause some serious hemeroids.

Buying a used bike is scary for me as I don't know much about them so someone could easily scamm me while a golden opportunity for a great bike might be around the corner and I wouldn't recognize it because who am I to know which bike is better than the other. To me they all look the same, no matter how stupid that may sound I just can't tell the difference between a 1k bike and a 10k bike.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68