Weekend Freewrite - 6/15/2019- Single Prompt: glasses

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

apostolos-vamvouras-1511101-unsplash.jpg
Source

My grandfather died when I was very young. While I have heard many stories about him and know his story now, here is what I remember about him: glasses off, then glasses on, then off again.

Grandfather's face was long and brown, his eyes the same dark brown as his face, faded around the edges to blue. His beard was silver-white and soft, and he didn't mind me snuggling my face in it even if I knocked off the glasses he had just put on.

I always knocked his glasses off when snuggling his face because I loved him so much ... whenever I came to him with my little drawings and paintings, he would immediately take out his silver-rimmed glasses and put them on, and look. He wouldn't always do that for the newspaper, or television, but he did that for me!

Glasses off, glasses on, glasses knocked off again... a grandfather's love, in miniature.

Photo Credit: Apostolos Vamvouras on Unsplash

Sort:  

What a beautiful story! Love the last sentence. : )

Thank you for reading -- I had two fine grandfathers, and from them I conflated this story... it was not glasses, but the idea is the same!

What a touching story and great granddad you had 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43