Day 833: 5 Minute Freewrite CONTINUATION: Friday - Prompt: bonus

in #writing5 years ago

Commissioner Scott reviewed Captain Lee's letter draft after he had taken a moment to drain his coffee cup. He read in silence for a very long time, and then considered it in silence for a long time.

Captain Lee stood at attention, waiting … his mind wandered back to needing to have generals who had gotten his men killed sign off on his letters to the families of those men, how casually they had reviewed those letters, how casually they had signed off those men's lives … how they had ignited a rage in Captain Lee's soul that would burn their careers to a crisp once he had moved over to Judge Advocate General – and they had only gotten off that easy because he was a Christian.

“And because you keep reminding me, Major Hamilton, that I can't just go slit their throats and be done with it,” he had often said to his cousin and finest adjutant, now serving as captain of police in nearby Tinyville, VA.

All the foregoing was why Captain Lee's respect for Commissioner Scott as a leader had grown so much … the commissioner considered the mission and his men with equal care. To hear the commissioner fighting big-time politicians to retain good officers brought healing to Captain Lee's soul; to see how carefully he used his resources even in crisis mode also brought that same healing. To see the commissioner, even within the constraints of his schedule, putting in the same level of consideration and care that Captain Lee had put into writing the letter … that stirred Captain Lee's heart almost to the point of song.

At last, after a deep sigh, Commissioner Scott spoke.

“I consider it a bonus in this continuously horrible job to get to work with you, Colonel Lee, and that you bother to answer to me as a mere captain.”

“Thank you, sir. I return the compliment to you, in that my transition to civilian life is being made more joyous under such leadership as yours. I would compare you favorably with the very finest superior officers I have ever served with.”

“Now about this letter: it is everything I would like said to those 12,000 families," said the commissioner. “Pithy, concise, devoid of things to be quickly misinterpreted, but full of matter.”

Commissioner Scott paused.

“Legal isn't going to let us put it out like this,” he said, “but I'll back you to the hilt in doing what you think needs to be done, just as you have written it. What we say is important, and I'll fight for as much of it as I can – but the real importance is going to be what we do.”

“Yes, sir. We are of the same mind.”

Commissioner Scott paused yet again.

“There is one other thing, Captain Lee. I know you are considering starting a business and a family. You do realize that if you do intend to follow this letter through, you may not have time to do one of those things for at least another year.”

“I am aware, sir. My business aspirations can wait. Since you have the confidence in me to make me interim divisional commander for the precinct directly responsible for our double failure of 12,000 people and their families, I dare not shirk this duty, no matter how long it takes to get the precinct right again.”

“I knew that you would not draw back – my confidence in you is firm, Captain.”

“And mine in you is firm, Commissioner.”

Captain Lee's heart began to sing, as it had on the best days on the Army … the rescue missions, when victory meant restoration and rejoicing all around. Not that this was a rescue mission. This was an internal clean-up, at which Captain Lee also excelled. It just felt good – and rarely did Captain Lee register that kind of feeling – to know his commander's confidence and full support. He had done quite a lot without any of that, but, talk about a bonus!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46