Day 829: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: enjoy the day

in #writing4 years ago

dan-freeman-VAWqURK_Th0-unsplash.jpg
Source

At around 3:00, just about the time the clean-up for the Weekend Oatmeal Feed's first day was wrapped up, Selene Slocum-Lofton got a call on her cell phone. It was a number she recognized all too well.

“Hello, Antoinette.”

“I just wanted you to know that in spite of your attempts to destroy my annual High Harvest Tea with your pernicious influence, the event was a smashing success, Selene.”

“Antoinette, if everything was so successful, why did you feel the need to call the destroyer so I can use all my pernicious influence on you directly?”

(Mrs. Slocum-Lofton made a mental note in the resulting silence: Antoinette Tudor-Semmes was more fragile than anticipated, unable to bear even four people being diverted from her event without feeling attacked. Later events, and the absolute hysteria they would bring, would thus be no surprise to Mrs. Slocum-Lofton)

“As this silliness of yours marks the absolute end of our social association, barring some necessity, I wish you well. Enjoy the day, Antoinette. Savor your triumph. Don't bother trying to bother people who are not at all bothered by you.”

“You old –.”

Selene Slocum-Lofton touched “end,” blocked Mrs. Tudor-Semmes' number, and that was that. She then went on to take her own advice, and continued to enjoy the day.

Photo by Dan Freeman on Unsplash

Sort:  

“As this silliness of yours marks the absolute end of our social association, barring some necessity, I wish you well.
How I wish I could say this to some of the people in my life! Good for her.

“As this silliness of yours marks the absolute end of our social association, barring some necessity, I wish you well.

Yes, she does have some advantages ... too old and been through too much to be bothered any more ... I know a BUNCH of blunt senior citizens like this ...

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-830-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-describe-what-you-see-at-10-am

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Antoinette reminds me off my cousin Antoinette. I hope she changed.

!trdo 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45