Day 641: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: swirls of cigarette smoke

in #writing5 years ago

“Death is a rainbow of colors, and beautiful if not mysterious in some of its stages.”

My friend is a rather morbid poet, who smokes. He knows it is going to kill him. Yet, he makes of it what he makes of everything.

“Tobacco is green in the leaf, coming from the rainbow of good soils, and, in the beginning in this country, grown by the rainbow of blue-black to brown to bronze of African hues. Their blood, unjustly shed to the soil, was red.”

“Dried tobacco is yellow-brown, if it is bright, and good cigarettes should be checked for brightness. That yellow and white of the paper should contrast.”

“But the swirls of cigarette smoke – more substantive than steam, with its blue-gray density, curling and twisting upward, like Queen Anne's Lace airborne. There is nothing like the gorgeous swirl of cigarette smoke, nothing in the world.

“I smoke partially because it is so beautiful. Yes, I know that the yellow tint on the walls from nicotine steam condensing on my walls heralds the black gathering of tar in my lungs, and the red tumors and the nasty rainbow of fluid of colors I shall drown in after cancer does its work. Yet I am addicted to beauty as I am to nicotine, and I simply cannot give it up.”

That was the key. I'm going to get him some pictures of the end stages he imagines. And some nicotine patches. I'll save him yet. Nothing is uglier than death, when it is at last REAL.

Sort:  

Very nice message on this free write! Well done!

Thank you for reading -- I tried to be gentle, and yet memorable ...

For sure!! so many are flippant about it until it becomes reality.

Sad to say, yes... I beautifully illustrated the fact, but it is still very sad...

Congratulations @deeanndmathews! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you! Wow!

It’s not the death II’d worry about, it’s all the horrible pain diseased lungs put you through before you die.
Beautifully written piece as always.

It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery operatives here with the crying prompt for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-642-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-baby-time

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you for reading -- yes, the pain is very serious, but I was trying to stay with the visual theme, and didn't want to get too heavy-handed.

Thank you for the prompt ... boy, do I have a doozy for this one...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60763.26
ETH 2638.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48