Buh byesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing4 years ago (edited)

RIP STEEMIT. My stories will be published on another blog.

Sort:  

This story gives me chills every time I read it. Every single time.

I cannot wait for part two. This is solid gold writing right here, my friend. Thank you for participating.

Thank you for the opportunity. I've learned so much from you!

I'm 90% sure that I may have ripped a line from your novel, High Kill, but lets call it an easter egg since this short shares a common theme about opioids. I haven't touched High Kill in a few days since I only have three chapters left, and I got to that part. You know, the part.

Speaking of the South and opioids, I would love to hear reader's thoughts on the dual metaphor present in Them Lyin' Green Hills.

Well, I'm afraid of SPOILERS if I say too much about those poppies. But I'm definitely picking up what you're puttin' down and can't wait to see where you go with this... ahem bad trip.

And you have the author's express permission to rip the line from High Kill. ;-)

Very interesting story! Allegorical to me. I must read it again, but for now I have an understanding of either willful or imposed forgetting, or even a little of both. Predominant and reinforced memories about the father are negative, but the short remembrance she has of him, just before he died, is oddly lovable. Lots of symbolism. For some reason I am flashing on the novel "The Giver". Something about the partial loss of logical reasoning, the ready acceptance, by some, of a deadened life. Maddy lags behind in this. Maybe the deadening happens over time, as evidenced by The Mother. Very intriguing.

Thank you for reading! I'm honored by the comparison. I've been under the weather over the weekend so that has put me behind schedule, but I hope to deliver part II as soon as possible.

hi dear @de-rock, your writing is wonderful, your story can be read in one breath! all the characters are very well outlined and the recurring theme of memory and oblivion is very interesting, I will wait for the sequel ;-)) have a good Sunday

Thank you for reading! I'm new to Steemit, but I hope to grow my reputation as a writer. Please share my work if you know anyone that may enjoy it. I'll be posting (& hopefully publishing) more soon.

Thank you so much for participating! You can find your post featured in the Steemhouse collection of prompts here.

Congratulations @de-rock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi de-rock,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hi @de-rock. I've spent part of the day reading you. I have done it with enthusiasm and very attentive to the story. You have many symbolic aspects and that, friend, is sometimes difficult to digest (in a good literary sense). The atmosphere is often of tension and that is very good to glimpse that lapse of time before dying.
It has been very pleasant to read you; This is a great literary work. Regards

Thank you Marcy! I'm glad you joined us on the discord server. I look forward to your future works as well.

This story had me guessing and second guessing the whole ride. It was visually stunning, with an outstanding sense of place. I could easily hear that ominous thunder and smell those bright red poppies. And I could feel a sense of doom and fear and hopelessness with every recollection she had about her father and her best friend. I could sense her agony as she spoke to her mother and listened to her little brother try to work out where that ball had come from. I can't wait for part two!

Thank you Elaine! I owe a lot to the great editing advice from @Rhondak .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62