The Call of the Void

in #writing6 years ago


Image taken from Pixabay

The engines rumbled forward, leaving the last known atmosphere and reaching the last cloud of asteroids. Millions of years of technological evolution led to this moment and Arman was justifiably happy. His smile broadened even more when the last batch of black approached.

Matter density would progressively decrease from that moment on until there was nothing more to hold on to. He would stop before to be able to return, lest friction stopped, leaving him in an endless inertia toward nothingness, where he would starve or dissolve.

The blackness surrounded him. Light-years left behind, he started to feel a vibration, a strange sound that resembled a melody. What was vibrating? Was it the holomats under the rubber spring-ventilator? He turned it off, it continued, he turned all the ventilation off, then the engines, and it continued. He read the monitors and noticed that it came from outside.

As if he were surrounded by an atmosphere, the matter around the ship was vibrating. What he would give to have company right now, to share this discovery. He amplified the sound and it was so beautiful that he swore he had never heard something like that before. The siren in the void was calling and he would come.

Sort:  

This is a really nice post. Is it an excerpt from a larger work of yours?

I write a lot of stories every day. Today, I wrote 10 very short ones, and I picked my favourite and rewrote it, and here you go. It's not an excerpt but a standalone piece.

I'm happy that you liked it (:

Aww nice! I’ve been considering something similar just writing up a few very short pieces a week to post here on Steemit :) gave you a follow, keep up the nice posts!

@cryptosharon, you have an undeniable creative voice of tremendous depth! Loved this short dive into space, especially since it was my first trek with you! This certainly was intriguing but also unsettling to imagine such vast, overwhelming loneliness in space. You captured it well - I will be following you for plenty more!

:) I love your compliments, you make me feel a lot better about my writings. I guess I'm too accustomed to them already. It's hard to qualify them with my own eyes. Thank you for the kindness.

The journey to nothingness! I'm just amazed your pretty brain can make such amazing pieces! Sweet and short!

Hahaha, thank you <3 I'm glad you liked it. :)

You should expand on this. It is interesting, but to me it feels incomplete. For example, the comment about "millions of years of technical evolution" raises so many questions. I am left feeling like I really don't understand what is going on. There is such a neat alternate-science setting here that you hint at in comments like "starve or dissolve" and of course the vibration. Just so much here that seems ripe to flesh out and so many questions left hanging.

Aaah, this is great. Now I want to write more about it. It's hard, though, since I'm not really that knowledgeable about science and space things, but I do have a pretty creative mind to make up for it with alternate theories about how things work. And, anyway, people seem to like them, lol, like the Magical Realism genre.

I did feel like mixing my story with yours and making the million-year-old American space technology clash against some crazy dragon-riding Chinese space warriors.

I love reading your stories they flow so well and are always are a great read

Aww, thank you. :) I'm glad you liked it and think highly of my stories. I'll try to keep writing them. <3

My pleasure and look forward to seeing more of them

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Oh what I would give to be part of an expedition to enter the void...Hopefully it will happen in the near future.

Let us pray to God Elon Musk for humanity to join the expedition to travel to Mars in a couple decades!

Oooh creepy. Is he sending signals back home to share?

It's a trap!!!!!

well stare at the abyss long enough it starts staring back at you. Just wanted to say that epic line haha

but that scifi is really looking well. I know most of work are stand alone but can I suggest that you make a series say every Friday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46