Ivan the Terrible — I hate orange

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I hate the color orange. Hating. I've never been one to hate much, but orange, I deeply hate. It reminds me of the orange room where I was forbidden to ever speak my mother's language again. In the corner right beside the stairs, in the most orange point (since it was the wall nearest to the chandelier), there stood a painting. An exact copy of Ilya Repin's Ivan the Terrible and His Son Ivan

Ivan the Terrible and His Son Ivan on November 16, 1581 by Ilya Repin, 1885


Ever since I moved to my uncle's home, I wondered how such a terrible picture could hang on a wall, and this adds to my ludicrous hatred for the color orange. But now I understand. It was perfectly coherent for a father who murdered his own son in cold blood to feel empathy with Ivan.

My father married an American girl when he was but twenty-one years old. His youth, all but limiting, helped him perfect his wife's language. By the time they were thirty, they had their second child: me. I carry my mother's name, to the shame of my father's proud Venezuelan family. If the stars aligned and pigs learned to fly, he would have received his fair share of my grandfather's inheritance and I would not be trapped where I am after my father's tragic demise under the hands of my uncle's poisonous helpers.

I tell you this right now because I'm hiding in that same room right now, hiding from my uncle. If you read this, I'm probably dead, as I would have burnt this page had I gotten out. I can hear his fury. I would say "I should not have stolen his truck", but I would be lying. I had to and I did it. So many would have died had I not, but now I can hear his seething fury, his burning rage, exploding little by little as it always does, in his rhythmic breathing. This sound always scared me. It ended in the deaths of many, and in unimaginable punishments for myself.

As soon as he decides to look for his jacket, I will die.

The page is over. I wish I could write more, to tell you my story, but there's no more space. XOXO

Sort:  

Pretty interesting story! do you put your own personal experiences into your stories or it all comes from your imagination?

Both! My inspiration comes from real stuff that happens around me, but the events themselves that I narrate are all fictional and symbolical.

interesting story, keep it up

Thank you :) I'm glad you enjoyed it.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cryptosharon to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Great post, love you sincerity

Thank you so much, @diljeetdil, for passing by and reading my creation. <3

Your welcome, what do you think about my posts, would love your views?

I love them! The pictures are so nice. You are talented and have nice taste. I'll follow you along and check your posts from now on. :)

Thank you so much, means alot to me. Ive just put up my part 2 of yorkshire. If your interested. Thank you for the encouragement.

I just checked it. The shots are spectacular. I really want to see more of them. Hoping you post a lot of them. :)

Aww thank you so much. Hopefully, I will get some more shots on soon.

Hi, cryptosharon, I am glad to read your story. Very good. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you, Carlos, for taking your time to read it and to give your opinion. I'm really happy that a trained eye likes my story.

Thank you, Ian! Glad to see your comment here and to know that you enjoyed my story. :)

@cryptosharon your writing reminds me of an African laureate 👍😘.
Keep it up

Thank you so much, Udeze! Might I know which African laureate? And I'm really glad you enjoy it like that hahaha. :D

Good story! You build suspense well. Definitely giving you a follow. Looking forward to reading more!

:))) <3 Thank you very much for your kind words and your reivew. I definitely enjoy creating nice effects in my stories for my readers. I also look forward to writing more good stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60606.72
ETH 2910.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44