You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: RedHens Writing Advice: Are you a "plotter" or a "pantser"?

in #writing7 years ago

Confirmed, dedicated pantser. But we prefer the term "discovery writers", because it makes us feel better about ourselves.

Seriously, ten novels (nine completed) and I don't have a single outline for any of them. Is there something wrong with me?

Sort:  

Not at all! In fact, I am super jealous! I feel like a discovery writer - which, you're right, is much better -- when I'm creating a story in my head or writing a shorter piece. But when it comes to longer stuff, I just have to plan it out. I wish I could do it well your way. 😀

I wish I could do it well, too. I can do it, but until someone pays me a bunch of money for one of my novels, I won't believe I've done it well. I know it leads to problems to just write to find out what the book is about, but I swear that's what I do. That means I have to throw out a good deal of it, because until I know what is actually happening, I get a lot of stuff written that doesn't belong.

I'm going to try a couple things with this next one, and see how it goes.

I guess writing is never "easy". As the saying goes, "The grass always looks greener on the other side of the fence." Keep us posted on your next one. I'm curious to hear if you find some new methods that work.