You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit... and Evergreen Content: A Paradox?

in #writing7 years ago

One of the big draws for me of Steemit as a platform for publishing my work is the promise of durability, that once it's on the blockchain, it will remain there.

Sure, short term rewards are nice... but I value the thought that my descendants far in the future may be able to find an archive of what I write here.

Long answer to say, yes, I agree with you completely - evergreen as the norm. Oh, I'll do some ephemeral posts - contests and such - but I may not index them all.

Like @jacobtothe, I hope the longer payout window will also help matters... I am also very much looking forward to "permanent edibility" so that I can have a more reliable and better arranged Topical Table of Contents.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Sort:  

Agreed-- I find the "durability factor" very attractive, too. I'm getting a bit tired of having to perform "emergency rescue" missions to retrieve my content when sites suddenly announce they will be shutting down at the end of the month... it's my hope that will never happen with Steemit. And my hope is also that this will not become a Facebook-like pit of baby pictures and people sharing what they ate for breakfast. Maybe that sounds arrogant... but I think there's a place for everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91