You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What It Feels Like To Be A Struggling Middle-Aged Author With No Plan B

in #writing8 years ago

Thanks for a good read on writing! I see myself in so much of what you are describing.
I have a “pointer” that I would have given myself when I gave up on my second attempt at writing a novel. I was looking way too much at what other people did. I got jealous of my favourite authours instead of inspired! And anything I read that I actually thought was bad also turned me off from writing. I was looking for inspiration, good advice, the best ways to do it. I read books on creative writing, I watched lectures online. Eventually I forgot all about the fun of writing. I mean, when I was ten I made my first book by folding pieces of paper and stapled them together. I wrote the stories and drew the pictures and I remember getting completely lost in it. That, I feel, is the essence of what any writer should strive for.
Looking forward reading your stuff!
JL

Sort:  

Thank you! You're so right. Writing is crucial to getting better, writing every day. You sound like a very creative person! I really appreciate your interest in my work. I'll be checking out yours as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67232.91
ETH 3240.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64