The Handmaid’s Tale: Review

in #writing6 years ago

The Handmaid's Tale is a chore. Its Orwellian genre has a plot surrounded by prose that would make a woman of ignominy blush for tautological redundancy. A literate woman of ignominy.

The whole thing makes me want to say, "no Mommy." As though folding the clothes will get you into a better school.

I've never told anyone this; I don't like reading Hemingway. I don't like Hemingway's writing. Steinbeck, Vidal, Rushdie and that one off Confederacy of Dunces. So much more transportive.

The contemporary/timeless themes of The Handmaid's Tale are two sides of the same coin. A mask for a plot surrounded by prose to weak to outlive the Netflix series. Which I’ve heard is very well made.

Fist in the air. Fight the power. Death to Atwood.

C29C7A5F-6785-4C6C-ACBF-8C7F2D835BA7.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.91
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44