Chapter III - The Sweet Escape (A True to Life Story)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Good day everyone! So I am finally releasing Chapter 3 of my short story series based on TRUE EVENTS of my life. For those who are new to my blog and haven't had the chance to read the first two chapters, you may check the links below.

Chapter 1 - The Beginning

Chapter 2 - The Conflict

magazine-unlock-01-2.3.927-_058b05db98f0454293a2d91849dd5b4d-01.jpeg

U5dtkxR5jWuo6F4m19MqyPyx9i8HjVp_1680x8400.png

Previously...

I went to our public terminal where he was. There, Abel was sitting on one of the benches, carrying his backpack. I couldn’t choose from the series of thrills and fears engulfing me in that instant. Then. I just ran. Towards him. And in that fleeting moment, with our bodies entwined, he cried out and said: "I ran away!"

I couldn't believe what he just said. I couldn't even believe I was embracing him at that instant. I know how much courage it took him to leave his hometown and risk his life just to be with me. I couldn't help but cry over every word he said. This man was crazy. And he was crazy for me. For the first time in my life, I have been loved the way this man loved me!

After what seemed like the longest embrace of my life, we searched for a place where he could stay for the night. Both of us still couldn't believe we were at each other's side. We spent the day like how we usually do -- food trips, strolling around, and just talking about anything under the sun.

Couple.jpg

We talked about his plans for us. I was ecstatic when I heard them. He was thinking about going to Cebu since one of his best friends was studying there. The plan was really simple, I would transfer school, and he will too. And he will find a job there since call centers were already flourishing in Cebu at that time.

At that very moment, I was almost convinced to really give up my life at MSU and lying to my mother about wanting to transfer to another university, which I thought she would easily agree with since from the beginning she never really wanted me to study at MSU.

Although I never wanted our day to end, it ended beautifully. No drama, no arguments, no reproach. I wish it just ended that way. But it didn't. When I was about to go home he insisted that we spend another hour or so at his place. I felt like it was the least I could do after all the struggles he went through just to be with me. So, I stayed.

Abel started to share how we managed to escape from his hometown despite the security surrounding him. He was staying on the top floor of his uncle's home which was a 2-story house. All eyes were on him as he had been very resistant about his fixed marriage. He was careful not to give any hint that he was planning his sweet escape.

Lumbatan was a small and underdeveloped town. They have a limited supply of electricity and almost every night, they would experience a power outage. He took advantage of this and created an escape plan. He knew he couldn't do it alone, so despite the risk, he asked his trusted cousin, Makles, to help him. Makles let him borrow his motorcycle, which he used to leave town. It was dangerous to go out of his uncle's house, but it was a suicide to travel the roads of Lanao del Sur in the middle of the night using only a motorcycle.

Sneaking from the house, he tried to go as far as he could before turning on the engine of the motorcycle, being very careful not to get caught. His heart beating fast from fear, he began the most dangerous ride of his life. Thoughts of dying filled his mind. If not from the hands of his family, it would be from an ambush somewhere along the way. But God was good to him. He was able to arrive at Iligan City safe and sound. Two of his best friends were already there, waiting for him. He left his cousin's motorcycle at his best friend's house and they traveled on to Cagayan de Oro City.

Although his friends were concerned about his safety, they still helped him in every way they can. They gave him money and took him to the public terminal for Davao City. He rode the bus, ready to see me and convince me to run away, from everyone!

I couldn't fathom how much of a hassle he endured just so we could be together. Yes, I was happy. But at the same time, I was scared. I was afraid how far he would go to save our relationship. At that time, I wasn't sure if it was really me who he was fighting for, or if he was just fighting for his own freedom -- using me as his excuse. I was excited to live a life with him by my side, but I was also confused and scared. We both loved each other, there's no doubt about that. But we were only 18, with no degree yet, and barely any experience in the real world.

What scared me, even more, was the thought of him risking his own life and his family's lives as well. I know for a fact that if the other camp knew about him running away, his family might be facing a "rido" -- blood feud. I didn’t want to be the reason for families turning against each other!

So, I just listened to what he said. I barely said anything except how grateful I was for everything he did and how much I loved him. He was tired, so he fell asleep eventually.

At that very moment, my mind and my heart were battling. No, I am no coward and I fight hard giving whatever it takes. But I cannot be part of something I'm not ready for. And so I made the most difficult phone call of my life.

It was already late when I reached home. My mother was waiting for me, angrier than I had ever seen her. All I could do was say sorry to her, and tell lies. I was in my room thinking about everything and pondering my future. I loved him, so much. But I also know that love just ain't enough. I prayed to God that night and cried my heart out. I asked for signs, for wisdom, and guidance. I didn't even notice I already fell asleep.

Early the next morning, I went to where Abel was staying. Then we both had breakfast together at Jollibee. We talked again about our plans and how excited he was to start a new life with me in Cebu City. I was just smiling and laughing over the simplest jokes he made. And though I was laughing, I was also dying inside.

My phone beeped. My heart was pounding so hard when I saw the sender’s name. It was Makles, asking me where we were. It took me a while to answer him.

I stared at Abel’s pretty face, trying to memorize every part of it. I want to paint a happy picture in my mind. I wanted our last memory to be just like that -- we were hopeful, happy, and very much in love.

I tried to contain my emotions until it would be all over. But time went by so fast. Makles, together with Abel’s father and their two uncles were right in front of us, ready to take him away from me.

He looked confused. He just stared at me. In his eyes I know he wanted to ask me "WHY"? Why I betrayed him. Why I changed my mind. But all he could do was look at me with so much disappointment. And with tears in his eyes, he went away, and never looked back.

So as I watched him leave, I felt like the foam on the waves as it breaks on the shore -- released from the tension, but only to wash up on the shore empty.

Makles thanked me for calling him. I did the phone call while Abel was asleep the night before and told him our whereabouts. It wasn't an easy decision, but I had to do what I thought was right. He asked me if I would be okay. I just smiled at him while tears were flowing down my cheeks, and asked him to please watch Abel over for me. He just gave me a tap on the back and told me things will get better in time.

I tried to compose myself, and when I finally had the strength to walk, I went back to where he was staying. His things were still there, and seeing them made me even more convinced that he's gone, this time for good.

I poured all my emotions in that room. And I was grateful for that little corner that I had -- a little piece of quiet and solitude while I'm reeling inside. I felt like my whole world came tumbling down. At a young age, I never thought I would experience such pain. But no matter how much I was hurting, I know life must go on for me. Even if that means letting the love of my life go so he can marry the girl his family approved of.

The next day was the day he was going to marry. I tried to keep myself busy. I did all the household chores. I went to my friends and they did their best to make me smile and keep me company. It worked. For a while, I forgot about him. But then...my phone rang!

It was Makles, with a surprising news! The marriage ceremony hadn’t happened! The bride ran away.

DQmagzYTfceU5NX5YkY1BqAuJsJLB6aNum62Z8KsaRdn6bu_1680x8400.jpg

...Time flew so fast. Things got a little better. I was happy because it was the first day of my birth month - July. It was that fateful day that I could never forget, the day that changed my life forever! I remember the precise moment, I was grabbed by two men who forced me inside a black SUV. Confused and scared, all I could do was pray. At that moment, I was ready to die!

To be continued...


Image Sources: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6


Thank you for reading! :)

Maine

Sort:  

Hi chinitacharmer,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you sooo much curie! And to @jazzhero for submitting this story! ☺😊

I really love this story! I never thought you have had such a romantic yet complicated love story po ate hehe. The flow of the story and the way you narrated it are so on-point! You amazed me again with your writing skills po! More success ate!

Thank you so much for dropping by @pinkvelvet! ☺😚

Congratulations @chinitacharmer, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Thank you so much BOPh! 😍


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much C2 :)

ayan ha..ndi kn nahuhuli sa trending may @c-squared at @bestofph kana... auzin mo galingan mo pa...sasusunod ung mas malaking letter C n yan

Hahahaha thanks Ken! :)

Nagka-totoo na nga tito @kendallron, wahahaha, lodi ko talaga tong si @chinitacharmer eh.

Maraming maraming salamat @jamesanity06! God is good! ☺☺☺

Ako kaya kelan? nyahahaha, di naman ako gumagawa ng curie worthy, in fact di na ako gumagawa maliban sa tagalogserye, nyahahaha... Hirap labanan ng katam eh...

Gumawa ka kc. Nabasa ko ung story mo sa pusa haha. Ung contest ni TP dati. Ang galing mo don. Need monlng ng inspirasyon para sipagin ka! I believe in ur skills, kaya sulat ka na! @jamesanity06

Anong story sa pusa? Wala yata ako matandaan na story tungkol sa pusa, wahahaha...

Worth the wait, Maine! Love the writing here as always. You really nailed the emotions. And Oh that cliffhanger and teaser for the next part! Made me crave for the continuation all the more.

Thank you for ur usual support Jazz. Sobrang rewarding makatanggap ng mga gantong comments. ☺

Etong kwento mo na 'to ang nagconvert sakin as fan mo haha.
Kaya masaya ako na mabasa ang katuloy.

Hahaha nakakahiya. Pero sobrang salamat talaga 😄 Nakakatuwa na ung ung mga lodi q sinasabi yan sa akin! ☺

Congratulations @chinitacharmer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

wow! just read from chapter 1 to 3 and i gotta say, reading your story is like watching a scene from a love story! love it! it got me hooked from start to finish! cant wait for chapter 4! thanks for sharing your story with us chinita! :)

Thank you so much for reading my story Andy, and for the kind words! It will be out, hopefully, next week. :)

Yun oh, sabi na nga ba pang curie worthy na post to. Congratz Maine!

Thank you so much Ada! At congrats din sau! 😃

I cant help but cry. Is this really happening in real life.
sama mo sa next moyung post ng dalawang naunang chapter

Yes po boss. Pang MMK talaga ang aking buhay pag-ibig. 😄 salamat ponsa pagdaan ng aking post.

update mo ako pag meronng kasunod...daming ganap ..wala time maglakbay sa steemland

Cge po :) Salamat sa support po! ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60191.28
ETH 3302.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36