Short Story # 1 - The Beginning

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

The things I experienced so far taught me so much in life, and I have gained so much wisdom as well. I am excited to share this difficult yet beautiful journey with you, and hopefully many can find inspiration from it.

These are few of the things I have mentioned in my introduction post. Looking back, I can say that I have had a pretty exciting life. And so, my story begins...



It all started when I decided to study in Marawi- a small city with a rich heritage. It is home to the Maranaos who are also referred to as people of the lake. It has a cold temperature on most days. Though a city, it doesn't have malls or hotels. And, it is predominantly Islamic.

2.jpg

View of Lanao Lake and the Sleeping Lady from MSU golf course

When I first arrived, I was excited, as the place and its people are totally foreign to me. I always like unusual, as it satisfies my curiosity and thirst for discovery. Everybody was wearing hijab—something that I didn’t understand at first. Most dishes are spicy, yellow in color, and having a very strong taste. People speak a foreign dialect. And the rain is very normal.

My mom called as soon as I arrived, asking if I changed my mind and decide to choose UP instead. When I was in 10th grade (formerly 4th-year high school), I took several admission tests, one of which is UPCAT. I passed, with a pretty good score, which qualified me to be admitted to UP Diliman - Engineering School. For many Filipinos, UP (University of the Philippines) is the ultimate college dream. But for some reasons, I was drawn more to what MSU (Mindanao State University) had to offer.

10msumarawi.jpg

Image Source

So it was final, I'm staying. It took me a few weeks to adjust to my new life. The most difficult adjustment was probably taking a bath in the morning. Remember the ice bucket challenge which trended worldwide about three years ago? That is exactly the same feeling I had to endure for two years that I was in MSU. The water was literally as cold as ice!

Fast forward. I gained a lot of friends (both Muslims and Christians), fell in love with the place, and immersed myself in the Maranao culture.

My first year as a civil engineering student was satisfying. I was able to maintain my scholarship for having passing grades. I was able to join clubs and organizations. I also learned how to understand and speak a few words of the Maranao dialect.

7362227804_c995d42daf_z.jpg

Image Source

Then summer came. I decided to take up advanced subjects as I was aiming to graduate earlier, or if not, allow more free time for myself for the next semester.

It was a busy week as the schedule for the final exam was fast approaching. Due to lack of sleep, skipped meals, and a myriad of fact sheets to study, my health degraded. I took my final exam having a high fever, and right after I handed down my paper, I fainted. I was still conscious, but I was too weak and too dizzy to get up. Then, he came.

I woke up in the school infirmary. As I opened my eyes, I saw a man who's pretty tall- about 5'8'' in height, with curly hair, fair complexion, and round brown eyes. I recognized him. We are in the same class. Grateful for his help and feeling like I owe him something, I asked if I could repay his kindness through a meal when I feel better. He smiled.

Two days have passed, I was already feeling better. It was a lovely morning, so I went out for a walk to have a breath of fresh air since I was stuck in bed for quite a while. On my way to nothingness, I saw a familiar face, it was him, again. "Is your offer still valid?" he asked. And without any hesitation, together, we headed for breakfast.

4655625642_279bcc9a2d_z.jpg

Image Source

For two straight hours, we talked about things. Then the next day, we did the same, this time for four hours. Then another day came, and little did we know, it already became a routine. Like the line in one of the songs of Bryan Adams “It’s funny how from simple things, the best things begin.” It felt like the universe connived to lead us to each other.

Summer classes were over, it’s time to go back home. It was hard to communicate back then since a text and a call would cost so much. Unlitext and unlicall were not yet available. But despite the limited load and signal, we managed to have at least two minutes of call and 20 text messages per day.

It’s the start of another academic year again; I was excited to go back. The physical absence only made our hearts grew fonder. Everyone noticed our closeness, especially the ones closest to us. He was pretty famous at their department (Social Sciences) since he was the vice president. Girls would often giggle once they saw him. But it was me whom he chose.

It was in late July, our third month as friends. It was raining, we were at the tennis court of the school, waiting for the rain to stop. I remembered clearly how he told me these words “Pekababaya-an ko seka!”, which means I love you. Three months as friends, who shared special feelings for each other, but were just too shy to admit. And finally, in that fleeting moment, we both admitted our feelings.

But there is a problem. I am a Christian, he is a Muslim. And, he is about to be married to someone else.

following-Christ-as-a-Muslim.jpg

Image Source


🌟 To be continued... 🌟


DQmTnYAkWSrhwuRTA8P97xruy6hScLrNtMsoWPxCu5rF7a7_1680x8400.png

26840837_1903481696329244_6400036278584124649_o.jpg


Sort:  

Omg! When is the next chapter coming out? 😭

Very soon dear! :) Thanks for stopping by! :)

Hi sis, I finally had the time to write the next chapter. :D Here it is, hope you like it! :)

https://steemit.com/writing/@chinitacharmer/short-story-2-the-conflict

Oh gosh I hate you for leaving me hanging with a great cliffhanger.

You built the tension enough for people to want more.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAA I hate her to for that. I mean "To be continued...." That is not healthy. I'll die, and that will be all your fault.

Pls don't hate me @zelenicic. 😁 Part 2 will be out soon. Hope I can clear my busy sched soon. ☺

Can't wait. If I die from suspense that will be your fault :)

Hahaha. Watch out for part 2. Thanks for the usual support sir Judd. 😊

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chinitacharmer to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Waaaah! Noooo! That's... that's just too sad...

Watch out for chapter 2. :)

Congratulations you are featured in our daily curation! Keep up the good work!

Thank you for the usual support @steemitfamilyph! It's always an honor to be chosen by you. :)

nakakabitin naman po hahahahaha

Ahahahaha. Meron pa po kasunod. I hope subaybayan mo parin! Thank you sa pagbasa po. :)

opo hahahahaha, curiosity kills

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation
team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may
be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Wow! It's an honor to be recognized like this! Thank you sir Judd, and @MuxxyBot. Please go ahead. :)

Don't leave us in such cliffhanger!
I hate those TV series which do that at the end of every season!!
Just finish the whole story, okay?

By the way, really nice story. Well written.

Hahaha! Thank you so much @hafiz34. I appreciate your comments. Will finish the story, promise, but in installements. :D

Looking forward for the next chapter, I hope it will published be very sooon. Im so excited!

Thank you @gheghenrv. Really appreciate you stopping by. I'll find time to write the next chapter. It's quite busy these days. huhu. But it will be very soon. Thanks again! :)

It took me quite a while to write the next part, but here it is, i hope you like it sis. :)

https://steemit.com/writing/@chinitacharmer/short-story-2-the-conflict

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78