Runako:A Short Story {THE FINALE}

in #writing7 years ago

It has been wonderful sharing this story with you. Here's the last part of the story. I hope you enjoy it.
Runako.jpg
…..A few months later I was in tip top shape. I was officially my boss’s right hand woman. I was dating Kundai, who of course had admitted to basically stalking me just because he believed me to be his destiny. There was something that had clicked when he first saw me, he said, and he just knew. For a modern woman, I just had a lot of supernatural baggage. Miriro had held her own and set some boundaries with her husband. I still didn’t like him. But he hadn’t so much as breathed wrong in Mirie's direction so I was content with that. She looked healthy and strong, which was good for her pregnancy.
It was at that note I decided to pay her a visit. She had told me the kids had gone for a sleepover at a friend’s for the weekend. I was going to drag her out of that house, go to a spa or get manis or something. I tried calling her and she wasn’t picking up. What could she be doing on a Saturday afternoon? Mirie was a creature of habit, nothing much changed with her. And every Saturday she would sit on her porch with some orange juice and a book.
I drove to her upscale Westgate home and the gate was open. Odd, seeing as it was always closed to avoid surprise visits. It seemed Mucha was home, judging by his fancy car parked in the driveway. No one was about and I supposed the help had been given the weekend off. I seriously hoped I wasn’t walking into any hanky panky session between the couple. It was highly unlikely. I walked into the house without knocking, after all it was my sister’s house.
“Mirie! Hi! Where are you hiding?!” I shouted.
I searched the kitchen and the porch. Maybe this had been the wrong Saturday to drop by. Maybe she was upstairs, folding laundry like a good suburban wife. She was always at some such thing. Suddenly I heard the shouts upstairs. I had never heard Mirie raise her voice in all my life. She didn’t sound agitated or distraught, she sounded angry. There was a skirmish. I had never noticed how thin the walls in this mansion were. It was coming from the west wing.It would take me a few minutes to get there.I hurried up the stairs to the main suite and what I found was a terrible sight.
I was horrified, then felt dizzy at the same time. I had never seen so much blood before! I was about to start ventilating at the sight of Mucha’s limp body but then I saw Mirie standing there with a blade in her hand. She was trembling only a bit and her eyes were full of ice. She looked ready to kill. Or maybe she already had.
“Mirie…..”
She looked up, now dazed.
“Rue… I….He…” she stuttered.
I moved toward her and took the knife from her. She sat down on the bed while I looked over Mucha. He was not dead, at least not yet. Judging by the knife and the blood his wounds were fatal.
“He came back and I decided to tell him I want a divorce and I’m taking the kids and obviously half of everything. He hit me…and I just couldn’t take it anymore. We started shouting and I took a knife and ran upstairs. I told him I would use it if he didn’t leave me alone. He kept coming and taunting me. I lost it…and I stabbed him and I kept stabbing. …”
She shuddered. I was flustered. I had to think of a way out. My sister would not go down for this.
“Breathe….We are going to get through this together. Take everything you need. Go get the girls and head to the village.”
She began to protest.
“No Miriro..He got what he deserved. Now I’m going to take care of it. You will not breathe a word of what happened here to anyone, ever. Not even Gogo and Khuru. Do you understand?”
She might not have agreed with me, but she packed a few things and took one of the cars. I checked the bloody body for a pulse. He was definitely dead. Damn the bastard for making everyone’s’ lives hell even in his death. I had already mapped out a plan, one that would not implicate anyone. It would be a tragedy and the pregnant widow would be the last person under suspicion. And there was only one way to do that.
I stood in the garden facing the big rambling house and raised my hands. And hoped it would work.
“Great One, God of the rains hear my plea. A great injustice has been done here and blood has been spilt. If I be a daughter of the rain, let my power speak today…Avenge the innocent lives that have been wronged. Put to dust the blood of the wicked. As I will, so be it!”
A fierce wind arose and dark clouds filled the sky. There would be a hell of a storm It started to rain and lightning hit the house in what looked like a thousand bolts. I turned and as I walked away, the upscale suburban residence went up in flames. The house would burn to ashes with its owner in it and no one would ever know what had happened. It looked like I had just walked into my destiny……..

                                                                         ............THE END……...
Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

It ended with a suspension.

lol..that's the point..in case i want to make it into a book

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05