Runako: A Short Story {Part 9}

in #writing7 years ago

We are almost done with this story and I hope you will be here tomorrow for the finale.

9.I came to in my room. Miriro was wringing her hands frantically. Gogo was knitting, oddly enough.
“Aaah you are awake Muzukuru..” ,Khuru patted my hand.
“Khuru, what happened?” Miriro ran to my side, already her eyes were welling up.
“Rue…are you alright?” She looked relieved.
“You gave us quite a scare there. They said it would happen soon. I didn’t know you’d be under for a few hours.” Khuru answered.
“What is going on? Who said what?” I asked.
“Get some rest and we will talk about it later. Mirie, take your grandmother to the kitchen. Stop fretting over her for now. She’s a big girl..”
I was disoriented for a while but I managed to get myself out of the bed. I had to know what they knew.
“Khuru…”
“Sit my child, I have been expecting you. Before you ask I shall tell you all you need to know. All that I have been told, and what the old healer has said.”
He explained to me the myth of the Rain Queens. He pretty much gave me a summary of whatever I had just seen or just experienced. It was quite daunting to realise I had just relived a part of history.
“They say you are destined to be the next Rain Queen, though we have not had one in ages. They foresaw your birth. Myth says the remnant of the kingdom disappeared into another realm. The Rain Queen reigned till she died and left the kingdom to the Prince and her sons. She prophesied that there would not be a rain queen for a long time, but one would rise into her destiny and take her place. The sign would be a show of your power. Well, it took you long enough to get there. I have been training you for this your whole life. It is meant to be.”
I thought nothing could shock me after the ordeal I had just been through.. Rain Queen?? What era was this?
“Khuru, I have seen things..and I have heard what you have said. But I can barely change my life in an instant because of some ancient ramblings. What am I supposed to do? Rule some ancient land??No…,” I held up my hand, “Nothing you say now can push me into it. If it is my destiny, it can wait just a little bit longer until I decide what I’m supposed to do.”

Later, we talked and laughed about how Muchanetsa and his delegation had up and left like cowardly hyenas, too terrified to even speculate as to what had happened. However, Miriro was convinced that she would give him one last chance. I was disappointed, but it seemed she had newfound strength, just as I had my newfound abilities. We left a few days later, Gogo in tears because the kids had to go back to school, Khuru nagging me to come back soon for destiny could not be delayed any longer.

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49