How I Wrote A Novel in 12 Weeks

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

laptop.jpg

135456 words. 12 weeks.

A full novel in 3 months. By pulp standards it’s sluggish, but it’s the fastest I’ve ever completed a novel of this length. And I was juggling a full-time work schedule and regular blog posts alongside it.

If there’s one thing I understand about the writing industry, it’s that if you want to make real coin from writing, you need to churn out lots of high quality work fast. To even come close to the success of the pulp greats, you need to write as much and as often as you can. Here’re the principles I applied to write a novel in 12 weeks.

Planning

Well before I wrote a single word of the novel, I had planned everything out. I knew the characters, the major plot events, how each scene led to the next and the long-term ramifications of significant events on the story and the series. Errors and plot holes and inconsistencies had been caught and fixed before they were written, saving time and energy and frustration. With knowledge of the entire book, all I had to do was show up and write.

I planned my writing schedule and stuck to it. I set aside a block of time every weekday and many weekends to write. Before I sat down to write, while I was busy doing other mundane things, I planned the day’s work. I would visualise the actions and the dialogue, putting myself in my writing frame of mind. When it came time to write, I already knew what to do, so I didn’t have to waste time wondering what would happen next. I just had to do the work.

Planning is half the battle. If you know what you have to do, you won’t waste time correcting yourself or wondering what to write next.

Focus

The secret to success is to blind yourself to everything but what you need to achieve your goals. I set myself a goal and refused all distractions.

My goals were, to me, modest but ironclad. One hour every weekday. Five thousand words every week. Minimum. If I couldn’t hit that target I kept going until I could. If I had free time on weekends I spent it writing, effectively doubling my average word count per week.

During planned writing sessions, I focused solely on writing. Not editing, not researching, not chatting with people. Writing. I placed myself in a state of flow and rode it all the way to the end of the session. If I absolutely had to research something, I set hard limits for myself, restricting the time and topics to look it up, and then went back to writing immediately. If you’re not writing, you’re not getting closer to your goal.

Inevitably, I thought of many ideas to improve the story. I didn’t allow myself to get distracted or caught in the trap of endlessly polishing incomplete copy. Instead, I left notes for myself inside the text and continued writing. In doing so I maintained the momentum, keeping the story going while honouring the ideas that could make it better later. Likewise, when I had ideas for other stories and universes, I pursued them only when I wasn’t busy writing.

When you write, write. Keep your eyes on the prize and entertain nothing that leads you off the trail.

Personal Care

You can’t write if you’re bedridden. You can’t write well if you’re sneezing all the time or feverish and miserable. Thus, taking care of your health is paramount.

I maintained a regular workout schedule, and used the time to develop the story further. I pushed my body to the limit, in preparation of stretching my mind further. I made sure to eat right, drink plenty of water and sleep as well as I could.

An important side benefit of personal care is discipline. You need discipline to stick to an exercise regime, a nutrition plan and a sleep schedule. That same discipline spills over into writing, allowing you to stick to your plan and focus on writing.

A healthy body leads to a healthy mind. You need both to succeed at the writing game.

Adapt, adapt, adapt

Don’t stick slavishly to plans and regimens. If you develop an idea superior to the current plan, roll with it. If a block of time suddenly frees up, use it for writing or writing-related tasks if you can. If you find that deviating from a plan leads to a superior outcome, do it.

While writing the novel, I came up with a number of new ideas on the spot. They deviated from the plan, but they fleshed out the antagonists, created a new one, and added a deeper layer to the story lore. I changed the location and circumstances of the climatic action scene, making it even more awesome and explosive than before, and altered the planned ending to inject tragedy, humour, hope and sequel hooks.

Have a plan, work the plan, but don’t be afraid to branch off and do something else if doing it will lead to superior outcomes.

Conclusions

Know what you are going to do before you do it. When you start, commit fully and do not stop until you have achieved your goals. Look after your mind, body and spirit. Deviate from your plans if doing so will achieve a superior outcome.

These principles allowed me to write a massive (by modern standards) novel within a short timeframe. While nowhere near close to Pulp Speed, I believe continued application will allow me to quickly produce the quantity and quality of content my readers demand. And I’m only getting started.

NGOD.jpg

If you’d like to see the novel that preceded the one I mentioned here, you can find NO GODS, ONLY DAIMONS on Amazon and the Castalia House ebook store.

Sort:  

Great accomplish @cheah upvote. I also wrote a book in a couple of weeks and I couldn't believe how easy it was in the end. It's just that one writer shouldn't write when you are stuggling to write. If you don't have the need to write, then don't even try, you will just lose your time. The cure for this is reading, reading, reading until there is nothing else to read. It's amazing how after 100 books read in a short time your brain is programming stories instantly after a kindle of tought on the certain subject.

Thanks! It seems that the more you work at something, the more its momentum grows, until its completion is inevitable. And, yes, if you want to be a writer, you have to read. Read everything you get your hands on, and learn from them. This dedication to learning pays off in the long run.

That's really inspiring mate. The secret to success is focus and dedication. Be it writing a novel or getting ripped. consistency is the key. Looking forward for your post. :)

Thanks . Those secrets have been known since forever. Putting them into practice is key.

Definitely, a lot of hard work.

It´s good to receive advice from an established writer. I am very fond of SF. Last one I read was 3 Body Problem, by Ken Liu. I have read quite a bit of a history of SF, a very interesting and personal view by Brian Aldiss: Trillion Year Spree. I am making the resolution to read your No Gods, Only Diamonds. In fact, I have an idea: why don´t you sell me physical copy directly, a dedicated one? That would be awsome.

Perhaps you can post parts of chapters of the novel you just finished.

Congratulations. I´ll keep reading your blog.

Thanks. Castalia House will be releasing a physical copy later this year. When it comes out I'll announce it here.

Thanks for giving a view of your writing process. I have done a little writing myself and found I had to turn off the editor part of the brain that wanted to stop and fix thing and just write now and fix later. I admire people who write because they love to. I can write but I don't love it. When you love to write and can put other things aside to just write, you are a writer. I can't say I am a writer. I can write. I have written a few books. But I would rather do other things. Music is my thing. Not to brag, but I have always been able to sing and I would rather sing and play music than most anything else. Finding your talent. Something you like. Something you want to get better at. And if you can figure out how to get paid for it...that is true blessing!

Thanks. I'd say the same thing about my writing skills. Different people have different talents, and fortunate is he who can make the most of his own.

Wow, I'm impressed by your ruthless commitment to efficiency and effectiveness. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Thanks. Hope you'll enjoy my future posts.

Congrats!

I haven't written fiction yet, but I found two things worked very well when I was in a content-cranking zone...

(1) Scrivener. Great program, I bought it on an whim from AppSumo and it was and is awesome.

(2) Having a script or a guide BEFORE YOU START - which is what you underscore with this post. Yes, you can change as you go, but your book is written in the table of contents (at least with non-fiction).

Cheers, mate, and congrats!

Thanks! I used Scrivener for this work and others, and once you learn its foibles it quickly becomes indispensable for writing long-form work.

This is timely and a helpful checklist, so to speak. Thanks for sharing, from your own perspective, with the evidence that it works - published material.

I like the part where you recommended that we adapt. Sometimes we are too hard on ourselves and the more we push, the less we achieve. Anyway, thanks for this article.

Adaptation is a step in the right direction. Focus is the drive. I like what you are writing. Awesome. Love it. Interesting. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted. Resteemed.

Thanks. Appreciate the gesture.

good tips. thank for sharing.

You're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27