Duel. A very short story

in #writing8 years ago

The challenge was to write a short story in less than 500 words.
My girlfriend and I both do ghostwriting and like to challenge each other.

                                                                                                                    Duel

  Zovaran leaned forward in his chair. It was ornate, as a chair for one such as himself should be. Carved from a solid piece of tree that had passed into history two thousand years ago, it was inlaid with the heads and ivory of past conquests. Gold, poured into the inlays glistened in the lights of the flaming torches that were mounted on the dark cavern walls.

“Intense isn't it? Total paralysis and the desperation to plead for mercy with a mouth that refuses to utter a single sound? One of my more mundane spells, but on occasion it seems to sit well with me” Zovaran said eying the broke and bleeding man sat slouched in the chair opposite.
Red and yellow flashes of colour from the torches and reflections from the huge chair of Zovaran bounced off the face of the victim.
“I've had worse” the man replied slowly lifting his head. “To be honest, I was expecting something more elevating. You know? That feeling of total failure and regret just before dying in excruciating agony, but this I think is a bit passe if you don't mine me saying so.”
“Passe? Passe? This is nonsense. How are you able to speak mere mortal? I am Zovaran. There is nothing above or below that can compare with my greatness. I shall try again” Zovaran growled.
“Well don't rush yourself. Plenty of time to give it another shot if you're feeling so inadequate about it.” the man relied.
“There is no time.. Time keeps you moving around your fields on a regular basis. I have no need for your time. We shall try again.”
“Well, if you must you must, but can I make a suggestion?” the man replied.
Zovaran sneered as he leaned further forward on his chair. “I certainly don't need the advice of a grass eating mortal. I am Zovaran. But speak mortal.. Though it matters nothing to me I shall grant you a moment of your time.”
“Well, I was simply going to suggest as you are the all powerful and infallible Zovaran and this spell is so simple and all, why not try it on yourself first? If it works on you it will surely work on me right? What do you have to lose? Certainly not time and I'm not going anywhere soon.”
The sound of Zovaran sighing as he mulled the proposal echoed through the dark cavern.
“To amuse myself I will. For my amusement of course and not because of your foolish suggestion” Zovaran replied.
A large flash and a glow of deep blue pulsating light surrounded Zovaran.
“Did it work?” the man in the chair asked.
Zovaran sat silently in his chair, gazing ever forward.
From behind the chair the man was slouched in stepped Medrick. He took the arm of the bleeding man and eased him over his shoulder.
He hated ventriloquism, but it worked.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58471.44
ETH 2587.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44