Hearthstone - the "well played" syndrome - discussion about chat/message system

in #writing7 years ago

Is it only me, or is it the message system in this game just annoying?
At first i must say i'm not any good, and i don't have too many card sets purchased, which is the main factor of "being good" in this game.
I very often find that if a player is better than me, we both see he got me crushed, he start saying "WELL PLAYED", sometimes even few times. In my opinion this is a disrespect for another player, as this message is to say someone, that he did well, and they are obviously using it in sarcastic way, to laugh at someone.
That's why i think, that if there are short messages there should also be a chat to say anything, at least to say this kind of player that he is not acting appropriate :)

I know, that it's a game, and young people play it, but this kind of behaviour just show who they are.
I can imagine a young, little gnome sitting at the computer, having all legendary cards purchased for their parents' money and hit "well played" button all the time, like he was masturbating. I'm sorry for strong words haha ;)

Hm.. so am i just overreactive guys? Or maybe this communication system is not to good?
I must find "auto squelch everyone" in options and just enable it, because i must squelch too many inappropriate behaving gentlemen.

I'm curious what you Steemians think of it?

Sort:  

'Squelch'

Done.

Yes, but i have to do it every game.

I think "well played" is nice, if they repeat to telling it..maybe sarcastic... but if not, maybe your ego are just playing tricks. Not everybody is a bad person with evil intentions, just because they tell you, that you are played well.

Hm i think you just didn't get it, it's ok, when someone say well played, but when they do it while you're losing, just before the final hit... I'm also not mad at them, i try not to involve me ego, but i just find it little annoying, obviously as a pro player i shouldn't care about it at all :)

I dont think its sarcastic then, even if you lose. Thats more like "i won, but you played good anyway". So.. sure i get it, but i have another opinion about that topic.

But if you are a pro, as you said, you shouldnt care about it anyway. And i think you can disable emotes, if i remember that right

I've not played Hearthstone in forever, but whenever I used "Well played", I did so at the end of a good or fun match. Nothing sarcastic about it. Ofcourse some people will use it like that, but hey, that's their shortcoming, not yours.

Oh and thanks for upvote :) I followed You!

hm... maybe you're right and it's just my little misunderstooding of english language. I just think it's stupid to say to someone "well played" before the hit that will kill him, but on the other hand, as you said, if this means the same as good game it starts making sense to me. There should be another button with Good Game or a chat to just say GG. And "well played" would be to say that someone did a good move, or whole game.

Yeah, I think it's simply because it's the best alternative out there. Whenever I had a really good game, I used it at the end, because it's basically the only way to tell someone you've enjoyed it. It's not like there's any other way to communicate in Hearthstone.

Yes, but as you see, i'm an example it may be confusing for someone sometimes...

Yeah, honestly, I've had bad games where people would say that and I figure they said it in a sarcastic way. But hey, if that's the way they want to live their life and if that's the only way they get their kicks, I'll just feel sad for them. Either way you shouldn't look too much into it and just enjoy the game :-)

Nice article I see you doing better every time ;)

We can play with my secret trap card "Hitler`s Tax"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44