'In the Silence of Words' - Act III, Scene 1

in #writing6 years ago

In the silence of words cover scaled.jpg

ACT 3, SCENE 1

(CASSANDRA and OLIVER’s apartment, the next morning.)

(OLIVER wakes up, gets up, exits to the left and re-enters a few seconds later. He finds CASSANDRA sleeping in the sofa, the letter on her chest. He smiles and shakes her very gently.)

CASSANDRA: (stretching) What? What time is it?

(The letter falls on the floor. OLIVER picks it up and smiles.)

OLIVER: Rise and shine, sleepy head! It’s 10.

CASSANDRA: Why did you wake me up?

OLIVER: Well, as I said, it’s 10. And we have plans today.

CASSANDRA: Plans?

OLIVER: Yes, plans! I’ll make breakfast. Coffee?

CASSANDRA: Tea, please. With some milk.

OLIVER: (exiting) Good.

CASSANDRA: (looking at the letter) I have such a headache! I feel drunk.

OLIVER: (O.S.) What?

CASSANDRA: Nothing.

OLIVER: (O.S.) So, what are we starting with this morning?

(Long pause. OLIVER re-enters.)

OLIVER: Look, we talked about that two days ago. Don’t you remember?

CASSANDRA: Remember what?

OLIVER: Today’s plans, silly.

CASSANDRA: No, I don’t.

OLIVER: Are you sure?

CASSANDRA: Well, you asked me a question. I answered.

OLIVER: (putting the cup of tea on the table) Here you go.

CASSANDRA: Thanks.

(Pause.)

OLIVER: Please, get ready. We have an appointment in half an hour.

CASSANDRA: Why did you wake me up?

OLIVER: What’s wrong with you?

CASSANDRA: Nothing’s wrong with me!

(Pause.)

OLIVER: Cassie, the photographer....

CASSANDRA: Oh, him? Oliver, he’s a friend of yours! We can go anytime!

OLIVER: Well, it’s my only day off for the next three weeks...

CASSANDRA: I can go on my own... I told you already...

OLIVER: You did? Where was I? Oh yes, in the bathroom!

CASSANDRA: Oh, grow up!

OLIVER: Another day of love in Oliver and Cassandra’s life. Now, please get ready.

CASSANDRA: What’s the hurry?

OLIVER: What’s wrong with you?

CASSANDRA: I don’t have to tell you everything.

OLIVER: No, you don’t. But in that precise case, you must.

CASSANDRA: (rolling her eyes) Does his majesty want my schedule for the day?

OLIVER: Maybe I do.

CASSANDRA: Meow!

(They both exit in opposite directions. OLIVER re-enters a few seconds later.)

OLIVER: So I guess you are meeting...

CASSANDRA: (O.S.) Yes, Amadi.

OLIVER: How is she these days?

CASSANDRA: (O.S.) Why don’t you ask her when she comes today?

OLIVER: Well, you are friends...

(OLIVER walks to the coffee table, looks at the letter, hesitates, and then decides to sit down instead, not touching it.)

CASSANDRA: (O.S.) And so are you!

OLIVER: I will call the photographer to cancel the appointment then.

CASSANDRA: (O.S.) I will make a new one tomorrow, ok?

OLIVER: (on the brink of tears) What will you guys do?

CASSANDRA: (O.S.) We need to talk.

OLIVER: Oh, do we?

CASSANDRA: (O.S.) There are some things... She knows my mother. Our friendship --

OLIVER: What are you talking about?

CASSANDRA: (O.S.) I don’t know. I need to figure it out for myself... Amadi always has good advice in store for me.

(CASSANDRA re-enters, dressed up.)

OLIVER: Cassy?

CASSANDRA: Yes.

OLIVER: What are you talking about?

(CASSANDRA shows the box full of letters.)

CASSANDRA: See?

OLIVER: I had never noticed that box. Where did you get it?

CASSANDRA: Well, don’t you remember? I picked it up at my parents’.

OLIVER: Oh, I see.

CASSANDRA: (sighing) It’s been here since yesterday...

OLIVER: What do you mean?

CASSANDRA: Nevermind. I have to go.

OLIVER: Hold your horses here. What do you mean?

CASSANDRA: I just mean that, that you don’t pay much attention these days.

OLIVER: Let’s sit down and talk, please. You have the whole day. She can wait.

CASSANDRA: Hey! You woke me up!

OLIVER: Why did you change our plans?

(CASSANDRA walks to the bedroom, embarrassed, but stops.)

OLIVER: (Cont’d) Let’s sit down and talk.

CASSANDRA: All you want to do is talk, talk, talk. Why?

OLIVER: You can’t leave like that!

CASSANDRA: You can’t make me stay.

OLIVER: How come you didn’t tell me?

CASSANDRA: You have been busy.

OLIVER: Oh come on, Cassandra! Nonsense! Why didn’t you tell me?

CASSANDRA: I thought you’d ask. You’ve been busy with work and all.

OLIVER: I didn’t want to bother you. I know it must be difficult for you. I remember... when my parents got divorced --

__ CASSANDRA:__ You can’t compare.

OLIVER: No, you can’t, but, but, to me it was a big loss too.

CASSANDRA: A loss? I can’t --

OLIVER: Look, I just wanted to converse with you. Nothing else.

CASSANDRA: I don’t want to talk, Oliver.

OLIVER: Now, if you had rather argue, then, then... When was the last time we really talked? I mean... I mean, I can understand how, how hard it must be for you, but, but... But, you must talk to me!

CASSANDRA: There is nothing to talk about. I don’t want to talk, Oliver.

OLIVER: (calmly) Look. I don’t like being taken for a fool. I found you sleeping on the sofa this morning. We just pass each other, these days. We don’t talk anymore. And then, you bluntly tell me you, you, you had rather... You prefer talking to someone who doesn’t share your life anymore.

CASSANDRA: What did you just say? What did you just say?

OLIVER: Do you remember --

CASSANDRA: Look, Oliver. Don’t get me wrong. I would really like to discuss the... I would love to share the letters with you. But the fact is, the fact is I can’t.

OLIVER: And why can’t you? Why?

CASSANDRA: I just feel...

(OLIVER starts on his feet, angry.)

CASSANDRA: (Cont’d) I just feel that you wouldn’t understand.

(OLIVER stands petrified, staring at the floor. CASSANDRA silently cries.)

OLIVER: I wouldn’t understand? What am I? Some kind of loony?

CASSANDRA: Why does it always have to be about you?

OLIVER: So, now, it’s my fault?

CASSANDRA: I never said that.

OLIVER: What did you say then? Don’t you trust me?

CASSANDRA: It’s not a question of trust.

OLIVER: So what is it then?

CASSANDRA: I just can’t, Oliver. Please, respect that. I can’t.

OLIVER: I respect you! I really do!

CASSANDRA: I’ve got to go. I’ll see you tonight.

(Pause)

OLIVER: (without looking at her) Why are we getting married?

(CASSANDRA stops dead.)

OLIVER: (Cont’d) Why are we getting married?

CASSANDRA: Not now!

OLIVER: What do you expect me to say? A few years ago, we had the same exact discussion. If you can’t talk to me when you, you feel lost, then who am I... What do I mean to you?

CASSANDRA: Oh, Oliver!

OLIVER: I respect you. I do. But, I cannot stand it when, when... I hate it when you put up a barrier between us.

CASSANDRA: I am marrying you, because --

OLIVER: We may want to reconsider our, our life together. The wedding, and all that stuff.

(Both stare at each other for a while.)

CASSANDRA: Fine then.

(OLIVER grabs his coat. CASSANDRA exits to the kitchen. The entry phone rings.)

OLIVER: Hello? ... Hi, Amadi. Come in!

(CASSANDRA rushes in but realizes OLIVER has already answered. AMADI enters.)

OLIVER: (Cont’d) Good luck! She is all yours!

(OLIVER exits)

AMADI: (surprised) What’s going on here?

CASSANDRA: (grabbing her coat) Never mind. Let’s go.

(They exit.)

(END OF SCENE 1)


Copyright © 2007 Cendrine Marrouat

Cover design by Cendrine Marrouat

All rights reserved. This post or any portion thereof may not be reproduced, re-sold, given away, or used in any manner whatsoever without the express written permission of the author except for the use of brief quotations in a book review.

For permission requests, contact: [email protected]

Website: https://www.cendrinemedia.com

Disclaimer: This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places, events, locales, and incidents are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.


In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play is available for purchase on Amazon.


If you liked this post, leave a comment and share it! Thank you!


See my photography, books and limited-edition prints for sale by clicking the image below:

Cendrine Marrouat Large scaled.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @cendrinemedia! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @cendrinemedia! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @cendrinemedia! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies. Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57647.49
ETH 2274.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50