A Yeti Heart- Chapter 15

in #writing6 years ago

sunrise in mountains.jpeg

all photos courtesy of pixabay

I was awakened early by Barati gently shaking my shoulder. He said we could enjoy one last soak in the warm springs before I began my journey home. When we arrived at the alcove, Maitreya, Gyaltsen, and Rabten were already enjoying a morning soak. I was no longer embarrassed by my nakedness as I slipped into the water to join them.

I thanked Rabten for the rabbits he and his hunting party had provided for last night’s feast. I told him that I was sorry for the missed opportunity of learning from such a veteran hunter, but perhaps I could join him on a future hunt. He told me that I would be most welcome to join him at any time of my choosing.

I then thanked Gyaltsen and Barati for sharing the tea ceremony with me, an unforgettable experience that I will treasure always. Gyaltsen said that he hoped we would share many more ceremonies in times yet to come. Perhaps we would also fish together with Barati on my next visit to the clan-gather.

I expressed a deep gratitude to Maitreya for his miraculous medicine; for without it I am sure I would not have made such an amazing recovery. I sincerely wished him and Norbu a long and happy life together.

Maitreya said that Norbu and he had discussed the possibility of waiting for the marriage until I could attend. I told him that I was deeply honoured that they would consider waiting, but since I could not predict precisely when I would be returning, it would be unfair to postpone their nuptials, but they could be assured I would be there with them in spirit.

Duma softly approached so as not to interrupt. Barati asked her to come forth, that all was well. She announced that breakfast was ready and all preparations for the outing had been made, but she would need to discuss with Barati, the desire of a few yetis who wished to accompany us.

Barati climbed out of the spring and took the blanket that Duma held out for him. Then Duma and Barati went together to discuss the new problem. Barati’s desire was for he and I to leave unnoticed, before any others were up. He was looking forward to some time alone to say his farewell to me.

yeti.jpg

Besides, he had reasoned that we could travel faster, just the two of us. Maitreya, Gyaltsen, and Rabten had already argued with Barati saying that there was safety in numbers and Barati would not have to make the return trip alone.

By the time the four of us had reached Barati’s cook fire, quite a number had gathered. Norbu, Manjushrim, Jinpa, the twins Khadka and Paneru had joined Duma and Barati and were eagerly awaiting us. Dawa and his mother Sashi were curled up by the fire, noisily purring and grooming each other.

Barati gestured for everyone to take their places for breakfast. The boys jostled for a position next to me. Duma solved the dispute by saying that the boys could each sit by my feet for this once. Then Norbu and Duma served huge steaming bowls of porridge sweetened with honey, followed by smaller bowls of fresh fruit and steaming mugs of strong green tea.

After breakfast Barati all could accompany us on our venture on the condition that when we reached the end Barati would get to say his farewell to me privately. There was unanimous agreement.

Khadka and Paneru wanted to know if Dawa and Sashi could accompany us. Barati rubbed his furry chin with a massive hand pretending deep thought. He then said Sashi could accompany us but Dawa, being just a cub would have to stay in the clan-gather. Perhaps one of their friends would like to care for Dawa for a short time.

Khadka and Paneru looked satisfied with the decision and ran off looking for a friend to care for Dawa. They returned a short time later accompanied by Gyalwa, who assured Barati that Dawa would be well cared for in their absence.

In the meantime the others were shouldering an assortment of bundles and baskets that would be taken on our trip. I assume that they contain nourishment. I gathered up my pack, slung it over my shoulder and followed the others out of the cavern and into the tunnels. I turned around and gave one last fond look at the clan-gather. It may be some time before I can return and I feel a sudden sense of lament.

Sort:  

nice post, uvpoted you

Thank you for stopping by to visit.

I really like these stories:)

Thank you reading our stories.

I ate before I came to read tonight. lol I do hope he gets to see them again.

We will have to see what happens...

A very nice story, I enjoy reading it. Thank you and @tatsuwaru for sharing it with us.

Thank you for reading and giving us a lovely comment. It is appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82