A Yeti Heart - Chapter 14 continued

in #writing7 years ago

This is a collaboration between
@cecicastor and @tatsuwaru

buddha.jpg

all photos courtesy of pixabay

Chapter 14 - Continued

The chant Barati was intoning is a Buddhist prayer, which he recited for me so I could understand.

“May all beings be filled with joy and peace. May all beings everywhere, the strong and the weak, the great and the small, the mean and the powerful, the short and the long, the subtle and the gross, seen and unseen, dwelling far off or nearby, being or waiting to become, all be filled with lasting joy.

Let no one deceive another. Let no one anywhere despise another. Let no one out of anger or resentment wish suffering on anyone. Just as a mother with her own life protects her child from harm, so within yourself let grow a boundless love for all creatures.”

It would seem that the yetis live a very simplistic life incorporating the ideals and customs of a variety of friends they have
made over the course of their history, spanning centuries.

The sun was beginning to hang low in the afternoon sky when Barati suggested we head back to the clan-gather. He said there was still so much he would like to share with me. We bade Gyaltsen a fond farewell and started off at a much slower pace than we had coming out to the garden valley. We were taking a different route than we had earlier. This one crossed meadows and pasture land.

We walked amongst mixed herds of yak and sheep being watched over by small groups of yetis. Each called out a sociable greeting as we passed. It was just twilight when we arrived at the clan-gather.

As promised we stopped at Manjushrim’s clan where Duma had gone earlier to join in weaving duties. There was the sound of merriment and a steady click-clacking sound coming from a chamber off to one side of the clan’s central cook fire. There were several women preparing food around the fire.

Duma gave Barati and me a hearty welcome as we entered the enormous chamber with a high domed ceiling. The room was filled with yetis doing different jobs in connection with weaving. A few were sorting out the various colours of yeti fur and wool from the sheep into separate baskets. Others were carding and twisting it into stands to be threaded into one of two looms. Two older yetis were working the looms. Younger yetis were gathering the finished blankets. In one corner there were a group of young yetis being tutored by an elder in the fine art of basket weaving.

A massive bronze gong reverberated through the chamber signalling the end of the work day.

Manjushrim invited Barati’s clan to join hers for the evening meal. The offer was gladly accepted. Duma looked tired and I felt exhausted. Khadka and Paneru being followed by an enthusiastic Dawa joined the group. There would be 18 yetis (and me of course!) having this evening meal together.

embers.jpg

Manjushrim’s mother Dakini and her two sisters Tashi and Dharma had been cooking up a celebratory feast, in honour of Maitreya and Norbu’s impending marriage. Dakini also wanted to celebrate her first born daughter’s (Manjushrim) and
Jinpa’s courtship.

Yetis took up places on the stones and the floor of the cavern around the cook fire. Dawa sprawled out in front of the warm coals. Massive bowls of fragrant rabbit stew, wooden platters heaped with warm flat bread, and brimming bowls of fresh steamed vegetables were passed around. Conversations quieted down to a whisper as everyone concentrated on the delicious food.

When everyone was sated, and the empty dishes collected, Dakini brought out mugs of steaming sweetened blueberry tea, and a gigantic platter of Dudh Peda a flat milk cake covered with blueberry compote.

I had been so enjoying my time here with the yetis, I had completely forgotten about Adit! I was to meet him at the rendezvous point in one week’s time! If my calculations were correct, that would be today. I needed to talk to Barati and explain that I must leave tomorrow at the latest. I am not sure of exactly where I am in the Himalayas or how long it will take me to get back to the point where Adit had left me a week ago.

Barati listened intently until I finished explaining my predicament. Barati cleared his throat and said not to worry that he
would lead me back through the caves, to the path leading from the forest. It would be a shorter and much safer way than the one I had originally followed. He promised to waken me early in the morning.

I would pack tonight and have a good night’s rest before embarking on the journey tomorrow. I thought it would be best if I said my goodbyes tonight in order to avoid an emotional farewell in the morning. I hated to put a damper on the evening’s festivities, but I couldn’t postpone my departure.

The festivities were still in full swing when I left to pack and turn in for the night. It didn’t take long to stuff my meagre belongings in my backpack.

As I lay on my back, arms folded behind my head, staring up at the cavern ceiling, listening to the happy sounds coming from the clan gather I discovered that I had a dilemma. I could make my fortunes on the proof of the existence of the yeti and be set for life. On the other hand, if the world ever found out about them, their lives would at the very least change dramatically. Their simplistic lifestyle would be endangered.

I could just envision what would happen. Dozens of newspapers and magazines would send reporters to invade the
sanctity of their home. Television crews would show up for documentaries. National Geographic would want to send a scientific team to study them. Then the tourists would start pouring in from all over the world. Enterprising individuals would set up tacky souvenir shops, and inexperienced guides would hock cheap tours.

I decided that it would be best for all concerned if the discovery of the yetis remained a safe guarded secret! I want to remember the yetis as they are and to cherish the friendships that I have forged here. I have learnt much from these gentle creatures and could learn much more. I drifted off to sleep comforted by the thought that Barati’s clan-gather would continue to flourish undisturbed by the ravishes of mankind.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cecicastor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am certainly glad that he does not intend to profit off of the Yeti's. Because it would happen just like he thought it would if he did.

I'm so glad he decided to keep them a safe guarded secret. And again, its close to dinner time & for some reason i am hungry. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78