WINNER of Carol's Writing Contest #1: Mad Cow, Mad Heifers From Hell - $25 SBD

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

We have a winner!

All the entries are fantastic, but we had to pick just one.

Congratulations , @thinknzombie!


I like BBQ, but not when I’m the main course. They hung me by my toenails over a fire, and as bad as that sounds, believe me, it was worse in person. The weekend was looking crispy unless I thought fast.
“Speak! You must tell us everything or we lower you into the flames.”


Read the rest of the story here: https://steemit.com/fiction/@thinknzombie/mad-cow-meets-scheherazade

Honorable Mention

to @guytmartland for the most creative interpretation of the story prompt. His bossy old "heifer" is an organic spaceship, The Mad Cow. Pressganged into hard labor in the ship's bowels (udderly horrible work!), our protagonist plots revenge. Double honors, Guy, for thinking of the recently reported blue dogs of Mumbai. I love seeing real-life news stories transformed in fiction. https://steemit.com/writing/@guytmartland/space-cold

Another Honorable Mention

to @jrhughes for finding inspiration in the Book of the Heavenly Cow (first discovered in part in the tomb of Tutankhamen). I love a fresh twist on an ancient myth. See https://steemit.com/fiction/@jrhughes/larry-harry-and-the-heifer

I love @Jhagi's gentle approach to the Mad Cow, who tries makes everyone at the office miserable, because she herself ... well, these stories are short, so see for yourself. You'll also see how hard it is to pick just one winner: https://steemit.com/writing/@jhagi.bhai/the-office-bully

Our esteemed and hard-working author/editor @bex-dk

recused her entry from the contest. Why? So she could critique submissions from others before they entered the contest. Her story is authentic, all too familiar to all too many people, and wickedly satisfying.
https://steemit.com/fiction/@bex-dk/mad-cow-medical

As the winner himself writes in a preface to his story:


This particular entry was written hastily and with the awesome prodding and some last-minute line-editing by @bex-dk. You can see @bex-dk's awesome entry here: https://steemit.com/fiction/@bex-dk/mad-cow-medical. I definitely would like some more time to work on this further (hint hint).
Big thanks to @cristof for his review as well. I am, as always, in awe my friend. Thank you.


Thank you, Bex, and @rhondak for help with judging, and for help with so many, many things behind the scenes. Thanks also to @jrhughes for more roles than I can list, and all workshop members for reading and evaluating each other's writing.

THANK YOU to all who donated SBD $ to the prize pool, and to all who submitted a Mad Cow story, that we might laugh and commiserate with each other.

More entries, all good:

@marcoagarcia3rd38 - submitted as a reply to the post (but not disqualifed for it!)
@arbitrarykitten - didn't post link at contest site, but we found her worthy entry
@deltatrek42- https://steemit.com/fiction/@deltatrek/the-nurse-cow
@darxide40355 - https://steemit.com/writing/@darxide403/submission-for-the-mad-cow-short-fiction-contest
@lordmok - https://steemit.com/story/@lordmok/that-grumpy-lady-at-the-office

DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

All images courtesy of Pixabay

Sort:  

Have to say, a contest judged by the great Carol Kean is as solid as it gets. Carol, you've spent your adult life as a writer, editor, book critic, and consummate professional in the literary industry. Now you're devoting your time to helping Steemit grow, and giving writers like us a place for expression. We love you!

Nobody gives more or works harder than you do, Rhonda! I can't wait to see you reap the fruits of your labor!

It was an awesome contest. Congratulations everyone. Writing good stuff is it's own reward! Remember, Carol, I have pledged 10 SDB towards your next contest pool out of the income I got for my story!

You're much too generous, Bex! You and Rhonda remind me of the parable of the widow's mite. From the smaller wallets comes the most Pay-It-Forward. Furthermore, you and Rhonda could shut down and use medical issues as an excuse to do nothing, yet you both exert more effort, time, and energy than most. Role Models we'd all be daunted to emulate!

I've been pretty shut down this week and I don't have great expectations of the coming week. And I have a huge offline to do list for the next month. I did well with my recused entry, which I wouldn't have written at all were it not for the encouragement of your contest. So it is only fair to chip a piece into the pot for the next go.

Congratulations @carolkean! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Oh man, I'm sorry!

Thanks for mentioning me (and finding my entry! Lol)

This was fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80