The Nurse Cow

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Constipation is no fun. It had been a rough night. A week without a bowel movement, I’d had to resort to laxatives. They were intense. The next day I was scheduled for a dentist appointment--one I could not miss--but I was feeling better by morning so things seemed ok.

It was the last booking in the day--they had just squeezed me in. I took the time off work and arrived promptly.

As I lay down on the retractable chair the nurse prepared a tray of tools, humming pleasantly while fussing over the order of torture utensils. First came the mouth brace to hold my jaw open. She crammed it in unceremoniously still humming the lovely tune.

“I’ll be right back Mr. Simmons, Carrolyn will take care of you.” The dentist informed me on his way out the door. The dental technician sipped at her glass of water.

“Ahuh.” I spoke through a mouth jarred open with a steel brace.

Carrolyn filled a syringe from a glass vial. The humming had progressed into a small jig. She obviously enjoyed her job.

She leaned over me with needle in hand. “Hold still now, this may hurt a little.”

Tears streamed unchecked from my eyes. “Uuhguuhh.” I tried to voice my complaints. After the fifth stabbing I was sure something wasn’t right. I only came in for one filling.

A gleeful smile pulled at her cheeks as she peered down at me. Still dancing, she began to talk while the stabbing continued.

“I love days like today,” she said. “I live out in the countryside, you see. After such a fine day I look forward to the train ride home. It takes about an hour but that gives me plenty of time to read a few short stories from steemit. Have you heard of steemit? It’s a wonderful place full of talented writers.”

By now my whole face felt like dissociated concrete. She refilled the syringe.

“Uh-uh, Uh-UH!” I was more than a little concerned.

She smiled warmly at me after another sip from her glass of water. “Don’t worry, Mr. Simmons there’s plenty more. We won’t run out.”

Thank the gods the dentist walked back in at that point. The nurse innocently lay the needle back on the tray.

“Right, are we all ready? Let me test.” The dentist donned a mask and gloves then chose an instrument. Prodding my mouth, he asked, "Feel anything?"

I tried to respond but only managed a grunt.

The dentist prodded again. "You must be unusually sensitive to anesthesia..."

She looked at me, still smiling and then gave me a deliberate wink. She knew! She knew what she was doing. I stared at her in disbelief as she turned away, resuming her humming.

The dentist was preoccupied with putting on some gloves. I fumbled in my pockets and realised I still had the pack of laxatives. As quickly as I could, considering my dead face and the awkward position, I pulled out several of the dissolvable pills and dropped them into her glass of water. Enjoy your train ride home now. These should kick in about when you leave town...

Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

oh wow. I would be honored.

Great story, just heard it read over the MSP PAL radio.

thanks. still have to listen to that

It was awesome, you gottta tune in!

The streets will flow with the blood of the non-believers...

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @bex-dk. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @deltatrek to be original material and upvoted it!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks is doing? Give it an upvote!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

I am so impressed with this one. You've grown so much as a writer in the short time you've been with us in the workshop. I can't wait to see where you will go from here. We definitely need to make you write more under pressure. YOU HAVE TALENT!

Thanks Bex blushes

Hilarious! Upvote for sure!

Fantastically written, had me chuckling.

wow thanks :)

Congratulations @deltatrek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post. Very funny! Great sense of humor to use those laxatives so brilliantly. Thanks for a good laugh. 🐓🐓

thank you :)

You have a wicked sense of humor. Thanks for stopping by the coop. 🐓🐓

Congratulations @deltatrek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58