You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Whitewash -- A Short Story

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This is a hard hitting story. I read it twice just to let it sink in. The inner conflict at the center of it is a powerful one and, if I may, distills one of the key traits of Greek tragedy. No matter what our intentions are, can we see the consequences of our actions? Are we sometimes forced into situations where there is no good answer and all roads lead to guilt, so we try to pick what seems to be the best path.... Only to find out we were horribly wrong? At the core there is the radical insecurity of the human condition, where there is no rule book and we're all just humming when we don't know the words. The sooner we recognize this, the sooner we may break through by changing how we view life rather than inventing new ways to control and ultimately resent it.

Sort:  

Yes! Exactly. You nailed it, candidfolly. The other thing that struck me even as I was writing this story is that the inner conflict doesn't belong to the main character as much as it does to the antagonist. Yes, Stella has an arc, but it's Ted's journey we feel the deepest. :-)

Hey, the Workshop team edited this today! They did a super job.

I should bring something to workshop. I've been pouring most of my time into my serialized story, which might be hard to workshop because it isn't self contained. I've been thinking about resurrecting some old material that I think has good bones but is a real fixer upper.

As long as we start at Chapter 1, we're good. We have a lot of serialized stuff coming through there. :-)

Are you a fan of Walter Kaufmann by any chance? He wrote the definitive book on Greek and Shakespearian tragedy IMHO and it is actually useful for regular joe writing (calling myself the regular joe here, not your eminance :-) ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75