Self Publishing is a LOT of Work

in #writing5 years ago

1280-purplecracks-transp.png
I bought a 30 Day Author Bootcamp course that I've been working through for about 6 days now. (Thus I've been gone from steemit most of the time)

This weekend my task was that I need to update my author website. I need to write a bio, and I can tell you right now that I am not interested in writing the typical “lives with her husband and lovely children in blah blah blah” but I also don’t know how to condense myself into a paragraph. What’s the important part(s) that convey “me”???

Ugh. I’m bad at this.

I also need to make an author logo. Well, I don’t NEED to, but I love doing graphic design, so I’d LIKE to. That means actually committing to a genre, which at the moment is leaning towards psychological thriller or maybe even horror. So that’s been an interesting task as well. I’ve been gathering some fonts that I think MIGHT fit, but I’m feeling very wishy washy about everything.

THEN I need to go back through my novel-manuscript one more time based on some more feedback that I received. It’s all really good feedback and I can tell that the readers are very invested in the character that I created, so that is a really good sign!

THEN I need to decide on a publishing date so I can first of all give myself a freaking deadline, but also set up preorders. This is my very first book, so I know I’m not going to have every single thing in place that I should… but I also need to get this done because I am awful at not finishing things.

Anyway, that’s where I’m at right now on this publishing journey. I’m also working on another book. I’m failing at keeping up with steemit and communities, but I think I may just have to give myself permission to put that aside for a bit. I have this story that is desperate to come out and I'm just stretching myself 6 ways to Sunday. I need to let some things go. I really wish I could let ALL of the marketing/social media stuff go and just pay someone else to do it for me, but since I'm not making any money (yet) that's not an option. I would much rather just write books and post short stories all day every day!

One other attempt at a logo, which I'm not entirely happy with. I think I'm going to hand that task off to my graphic designer in training daughter! That is a task that is generally fun and relaxing for me, though... so who knows? Maybe I'll inadvertently design the perfect thing one of these days.

450-bw-cracks.png

BIO:

Byn Always has been writing for as long as she can remember. She was first published at age 10 when she wrote a story about her brothers being aliens. Since then, she was waylaid by the raising of five kids and a stunningly pervasive writer's block.

Since rediscovering her love of writing once again, thanks to steemit.com and the daily freewrite challenges, Byn has written scads of stories in various genres for her blog as well as her first novel that will be published early in 2019.

Now she’s enjoying more free time with a quickly emptying nest as the kids finally fly the coop. That means more time for writing and remodeling.

She lives with her biggest supporter, her husband Patrick, the pot farmer-techie geek, and a few straggling children who haven’t quite left the nest yet.

black.png


COMING SOON! My First Novel!

400-365-kindle-mockup-reading.png


A fun series: Letters from a Boat Cat!

23-Tempest-hideandseek.png

black.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

black.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source at the bottom of my post (Or in the case of linked thumbnail cover photos in the sig, they are sourced at the original post).
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

What is the name of the course? Great job on the bio!

Thank you! I got this course on sale for $30.00 and I'm on day 9 today. It's definitely helping spur me on and stay focused, although there isn't a TON of information that I didn't know, yet. There is feedback and an accountability group that is helping. The whole marketing thing is so crazy. There is SO much information to be found and sifting through it was making me crazy. This is really helping me hone in on one task at a time. I'll do a review of it when I'm done and let you know if I thought it was worth it.

Hello @byn, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Howdy Byn! Hey that author's course sounds like a good investment. I think the bio is good too. What a ton of things to do though, to be able to publish. But in time you'll have an assistant or someone to take care of everything and you can just write! It's going to be amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87