Guest post by @ailindigo: Ice books as pieces of art and awareness creators

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


Source.

I remember in 2016 I had to make a very short oral presentation for a subject at the university, the professor told us we could choose any topic we liked and the presentation couldn't last more than 3 minutes I think, it was supposed to be simple, so we had to choose a simple topic. So I decided to talk about a project I read about in an article from a very good website.

The project is called "Ice Books: receding / reseeding" and it was created by an artist based in the USA who is, according to the article, obsessed with water; something that is mentioned right at the beggining of the article and got my attention pretty fast, besides the tittle that mentions "ice book" phrase, since I consider myself a person who is also obsessed with water! I could say this is the element I relate the most, my favorite one; so this was something that made me keep on reading this nice article about this very interesting project.

I tried to explain as briefly as I could what was the project about and why I liked it: this artist uses ice that is made of water from different rivers collected by communitites that voluntarily participated in the project, to make ice books whose content ("writings") were made of seeds! So basically she made ice sculptures, and what did she do this for? To put them into the river in order to reforest those lands as the books get melted and send the seeds to the riverbank. Isn't this as awesome as beautiful?

I think this is a beautiful way to create awareness about a topic like this, this artist claims she's a "water issues activist" and this is a good way of demonstrate it, since this is not only activism but a work of art, a proof of the communicative power that art has. As they say in the article, these ice books are "pulses of esthetics and awareness."

I was so excited when I talked about this on my oral presentation that I think I exceeded the time required heheh I just wanted to share something I found pretty importat these days and at the same time so beautiful, I'm almost sure this artist considers, as I do, that water is somehow like the planet's blood. What do you think? :D

Thanks for watching and reading!

Sort:  

You can post so cool. Your post has been very nice.

Congratulations @bulleth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81