You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: RedHens Writing Advice: Are you a "plotter" or a "pantser"?

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Thanks @redhens for the video. If I think about it, i feel similar to you in that I think I'm a pantser but in reality I am probably a plotter. I have the ability to write on the spur of the moment, but I really find myself going back and reading what I've wrote many many times. I probably read and iterate over my writing at least 20 times before publishing .. so in that sense I would be a plotter.

You made a comment about wishing that you didn't have to do so much upfront preparation and you could write by the seat of your pants because it's fun. There are many professions out there that require a lot of upfront preparation before everything comes together pretty quickly. Maybe you can find a way to bring the more fun parts of the process into the preparation aspect so that you enjoy it more along the way?

Anyways, I appreciate the list of resources, I'll take a few to review them and strengthen my own personal plotting skills. Since joining steemit, I've started thinking about writing some short fun stories so this is timely. Thanks!

Sort:  

Thanks for the suggestion! It might make an interesting topic for a future video -- how to mix some fun into your work! I'll have to see what I can find. 😀

You're most welcome! If it can help you and then you share it to others, it's a win-win, right? :D If you don't mind me asking, do you use any particular software for writing?

I use OneNote to draft my Steemit pieces because I like how it allows me to organize my posts and write via my laptop or phone. I started using Scrivener for my novel. Still learning the ropes, but it looks pretty cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60327.79
ETH 2348.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53