Once (Introducing a New Series)

in #writing7 years ago

Once is something of a photographic memoir written by the filmmaker Wim Wenders.

It explores and recalls the minutia of various moments in his life that have, for whatever reason, stuck with him. Some of these moments he has captured in photographs, others seem to have captured him and left photographic-like impressions on his mind that he shares with the reader through poetic fragments and pieces of verse.


image1-2.JPG


It opens with a manifesto about photography that builds to this conclusion:

all of it appears in front of the camera just ONCE,
and every photograph turns this once into an eternity.
Only THROUGH
the captured picture does time become visible
and in the time span
BETWEEN the first shot and the second
the story emerges,
a story that, were it not for these pictures,
would have slipped into oblivion
for the same eternity.

Just as we want to disappear,
out into the world
and into the things,
at the very moment of taking the picture,
the world and the things now leap out of the photography
at the beholder,
seeking to survive and to last there.
It is “THERE” that the stories come about,
in the eye
of the beholder.

While many of the reflections in this book are accompanied by photographs, some are nothing but text. It is these recollections that intrigue me the most, the recollections, images, and impressions that didn’t leap in front of Wenders’ camera but, instead, leaped in front of him, a person, and somehow managed to survive and last there, in his mind.

Being filled with many of these photographic-like memories and impressions myself, this book has inspired me to begin a series that borrows its title from Wenders’ book, Once. In it, I plan to share bits and pieces of my life, in some cases nearly instantaneous bursts of time, that have found a way to live inside me for many years, periodically returning at the oddest of times and with a randomness that is similar to the way in which photographs of our pasts occasionally find themselves before our eyes once again.

In his book, Wenders describes his photographs as being the beginning of unfinished stories, stories that the reader, or viewer, is invited to complete. Similarly, I offer these moments of my life to you as if they were not my own, as if they were in no way connected to me, which in many cases they no longer seem to be. I offer these moments to you as beginnings, beginnings of stories or travels that you are free to write, live, or complete.


image2.JPG


Once

Once, when I was walking down a sloped street in Jodhpur, the famous blue city of India, a man came walking quickly out of a house below me. He turned up the hill and walked in my direction, his head bent down over the bundle in his arms. A chorus of wailing voices followed him out onto the dry, sun-baked dirt street.

In his arms he held an infant, mostly swaddled in cloth. The infant’s arm was hanging down over the man’s arm. It swung limply with the motion of the man’s walk.

When he passed, I could hear his sobs catching in his throat.

He didn’t look up. He just walked past, his head down, focused on the child in his hands.

It was hot.

The doorway from which he had come was black, a rectangle that held no light.

I turned and looked after him one time. His long, stiff legs carried him up the inclined street. Mehrangarh, the ancient castle, stood on the hill above him.

The distraught cries of hidden women continued spilling out into the street. They seemed to be looking for him now, trying to follow him, trying to take back the bundle that he carried in his arms.


Image Credits: All images were taken by me.

Sort:  

Looks good, a good use of mediums to share the experiences, thanks for sharing

Thanks for reading. I plan to post more of these in the future, so please stop back when you think of it.

Looking forward to them, following to make sure I don't miss them. Cheers

Whoa man. Very inspiring, resteemed.

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. Sorry I haven't gotten back to you on chat yet. The chat seems to be down.

Very close to me. Sometimes the photo is accompanied by poems. But not in English, not sure what limit understand poetry in translation. Thanks for the post.

Yeah, poetry doesn't translate very well. Many of the nuances and feelings produced by the sounds of the language it is written in disappear, as do the multiple meanings.

Your introduce a New serius is very good

Thank you. Please check back in for updates.

Thank you brother

What a great poem by Wim Wenders!
Photos does have something both magical and nostalgic to them. They can be uplifting or melancholic. Whatever feeling they spark in us they should be considered precious reminders of a time that's no more and that's slowly fading from memory.
Upvoted and followed :)

Thanks for following me. I particularly love the photos of strangers from bygone times can evoke strange feelings in their viewers. I really think our emotional response to photographs is interesting. Thanks for commenting.

hi. I had included your post in this compilation to share with more people 😃

SteemBookLoversMag, 25 June 2017

Thanks for including me! That's a great idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55