You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Much Do You Trust Internet Reviews?

in #writing7 years ago

Yup, I always check to make sure the reviews seem legit. I know some people who will ask for reviews on their podcast and such from their viewers, which is good engagement for the audience. For products, if there are a ton of reviews, some in different languages, various opinions, not all good, then I know those are honest reviews. Fake reviews seem a bit sketchy, they have a pattern, and they seem to be phrased in similar ways, not like someone just quickly writing what they thought. On amazon, most reviews are legit. Google Play, there is a mix of legit and non-legit reviews.

"Great, just what I was looking for, works perfectly!" Right next to: "Doesn't open and displays error message." Makes the reviews look dishonest lol

Sort:  

Amazon Self Published books are the worst for paid reviews. I never wrote one, but I came across dozens of authors buying reviews in the form of services who specialize in this.

The service sells bundles of reviews for X amount of dollars. For example you can buy a package of 50 for $60 or 100 for $100. Because there are so many people who self publish with Create Space, getting their book noticed is almost impossible. To become visible, they need reviews. To get people to buy the book it must be visible. I see why they do it.

This is good to know, because depending how soon I am ready to publish, within the next year I'm hoping, I will probably be using Create Space or maybe another one. There are several options open to Canadians and I have a book by an author, who has the same editor as I do. She explains the process and our available choices. I do not want to buy reviews, because I want to be honest and organic, but it's good to know that some services might start spamming me for reviews and to know that their not legit and all that. I will encourage readers to write reviews.

The biggest problem with Amazon is that many of the products on it are counterfeit.

You really need to check the seller, because if the seller has good reviews, then chances are what you're buying is legit. But yeah, we need to be careful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15