I Now Have a Venue For My Book Launch - And Clothes!

in #writing6 years ago

Well, I mean, not that I would launch my book in the nude, of course, but I mean appropriate clothes for the occasion.

Today Frank and I went into town because I wanted to go buy my new photo camera, which will also film in HD. The Silver wasn't in stock, so we had to order it. So I don't have her yet, yes her. Since we were on St-Hubert street, we passed by Dracolite. That's the store where we bought our dragon eggs for the wedding and a bunch of stuff.

20180427_232626.jpg

The owner was there and he recognised us right away. He designed and hand made our wedding rings. His wife designed and made my dress. Frank also was clothed by their outfits. Dracolite is a medieval store, you see.

So we got chatting and they revamped the store a bit. While we were taking a look around, I mentioned to the owner about my book, that I'm publishing this year, perhaps October, if all goes well. My hopes were that he would agree to have my book on his shelves with some of the other books he sells. Well, not only will I have that, but he also offered to host the Book Launch event. When I asked how much he would like for it, he shook his head and said: "What price? There's no price." So basically I've got a venue for free!

I mean, to be fair, we know them a bit by now, they like us, we buy there every now and then, and it brings customers to their store. They often host medieval events and if someone arrives and is at worst not interested in my book, they might buy something there anyway. So we're all winners in the end.

20180427_232801.jpg

So I jumped on some...mannequins...because only they had my size, or the last of the item, and stripped them bare lol We found some nice things for under $100 each. I never go shopping for clothes anyway, so Frank was more than happy to buy me something that I liked, that I looked cute in, and felt good in.

I know what I'm wearing for my Book Launch AND for my photo session with the Photographer for my "About the Author" photo.

20180427_232326.jpg

As you can see from the images, I took a few selfies. I tried to get all the top in, but as a selfie it's tough. Perhaps it will be easier with my new camera once it comes in, than with the touchpad tablet.

20180427_232353.jpg

I feel super happy. This day was different than I thought, but for the better. Considering I almost had a few panic attacks at the start of our evening excursion into town, for a bunch of reasons. And we ended the evening in town by eating supper at a restaurant called Zero8, where they are expressly free of allergens. Now I'm home, and it's time to relax in front of the magical box that shows images :p

Sort:  

Awesome story mam @binkyprod

I Think Your Writing Skill is Very develop in day by day, best wishes for you.

Thank you :)

Glad to hear that you are publishing your book soon! And kind of the owner of Dracolite offering to host the Book Launch event 👍, the beauty of networking.

I know right! Well, we are good customers after all, so that probably helps :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59323.36
ETH 2348.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55