You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes #33 - Playing Dice With God

in #writing7 years ago

Hey I hope you get feeling better and get that writing Vibe going I've been enjoying a lot of what you've been posting recently. As to that God thing I wonder if you have ever read The Works of Flannery O'Connor, she is my absolute favorite author even more so than Kurt Vonnegut. Her stories are full of religious imagery and interesting characters as you read you think is she violently against God or perhaps is she defending him, you never really know for sure but it sure gets you thinking. I especially like her book Wise Blood.

Sort:  

Flannery O'Connor. Her works are so rich and elegant and layered, with every word in exactly the right place. She's not afraid to go to some dark places, either. (That one about the Bible salesman...)

It's a pity she didn't write more, but she, too, suffered from serious health problems and low energy throughout her life. So it's inspiring that she produced as much as she did.

Thanks for the confirmation. I have this author on my list now. Always on the lookout for interesting new books (new for me).

Thank you, I appreciate the comment. I think the writing vibe has been set to low at the moment, but I will grab every opportunity. Seizing those ideas for when the energy stabilises. I will take a look for Flannery O'Connors work. I like the idea of remaining ambiguous around the topic of God and meaning. To me it shows that at least the person is riding the waves of reality and not stuck in a preset belief. But I understand both sides. Thanks for the suggestion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70