Dear Diary I💜U: Reflections on a life of diary-writing and journaling

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

barge-diary1.jpg
I started writing diaries in April 1985, a few months before my 13th birthday. My father – who over the course of his life had kept various diaries, three of which are in my possession – had suggested it and I agreed. He gave me my first diary, and continued to supply me with new diaries every year, until he died, in 1988. My mother wasn't much of a diary-writer, although she did keep a journal of the overland trip from UK to India that my parents made in 1973, in an Austin 1100cc and with a 7-month old @barge on board :).

I went to a boarding-school in India, and was utterly terrified of having my diary discovered, read and ridiculed. It would certainly have happened had it been found by a 'senior', or a class-mate with a grudge. Although nothing like that took place, the fear of it happening stopped me from expressing myself more fully than I did, and what I wrote in the early years is rather mundane and of no particular interest to anyone else, except maybe my class-mates :).
barge-diary2.jpg
After school in India, I came to Scotland in early 1990, not quite 18 years old. I spent a year in Edinburgh and then went off travelling – working various jobs for short periods in Germany and France (restaurants, factories, supermarkets, whatever...), saving some money and then going off with my rucksack to hitch-hike / bus / train my way around Europe, the Middle-East and India. This was in the early-mid 90s. It is this period of diary-writing that I'd quite like to share on this blog. I would enjoy going through my diaries, especially those of 1992 and 1994/5/6, as they not only cover the periods of what I consider my most interesting travels, but they are diaries that I have never again read. I recall that this period of travelling and diary-writing carries the energy of freshness, novelty and discovery – I remember spending long periods writing in different locations and settings, something I used to really enjoy.

By the mid-late 90s, I was getting into the swing of becoming a completely alienated and confused 20-something-year-old with increasingly pessimistic views on life. The monochrome perception of adolescence, which believed that sense could be made of 'stuff', now became - with the help of travel and the exposure to some of the vast multiplicity of life – a swimming ocean of multi-dimensional colour that I could not make sense of under the old way of thinking. Nor was I ready to give up that old way of thinking! I plunged downwards towards my 30s, into a period of my life where I lived like a zombie – emotionally numb, auto-triggered by conditioning and interested mainly in keeping my mind away from the void through busy-ness, entertainment and sedation.

The effect of all this on my diary writing was that towards my late 20s, I became completely disillusioned with noting down the external – and now, to my current state of mind – meaningless everyday events. I wasn't enthusiastic and I didn't feel involved. I started to write more and more of what was in my head – but all I achieved were (as I see it now) massive loops of description and labelling which did nothing much for clarity of perception. This phase of diary-writing – in which I seemed to be going round and round and round in repetitive and downward thought spirals - ultimately got so maddening, that by the turn of the century I had stopped writing diaries altogether .
barge-diary3.jpg
It wasn't until I entered my 40s (blessed decade :), that life opened up for me in a massive way and I was able to gradually find my way out of the locked and limited cage of dominant, analytical and circular THOUGHT. Since then, I have kept only note-books. I no longer record what I do on a daily basis – externally or internally. Sure, I have kept a brief travel journal on a couple of occasions in the past 15 years – Tahiti and NZ; as well as some scraps of disjointed diary writing when I lived for a few months in Cuba, and later, in Dubai, but they are exceptions.

Nowadays, the entries into my note-books are relatively few. I note down dreams; synchronicities that may strike me; self-readings I may do on some aspect of being; insights gained when awake, meditating or in either of those states + substance :) – that kind of thing.

I've always felt – and many people have told me – that I would really appreciate my diaries when I am older. Certainly, reading through some of the earlier ones (I got to the start of 1992 around a year ago and then stopped) brought some nice memories to the fore, but it was also rather painful, and I found myself cringing - until I'd notice the inner drama and give my confused younger self a bit of love-across-the-years :). I am grateful to my dad for having got me started on the habit of diary-writing, it was one of his many hidden gifts to me. I now look forward to opening this particular one; revisiting my past experiences and presenting some of the material here. This post btw, is my hundreth on Steemit... it's all kinda exciting!

Thanks for reading

Namaste!

barge-diary2.jpg

Sort:  

Nice, amazing that you have kept up on writing a diary so well through the years. This is definitely something I should pick up at some point, now would be better than later haha!

Thanks @jakeybrown, the habit/discipline allowed me a valuable output for observation and self-expression, and I'm now getting pleasure out of it, which is great :) ...I've heard people talk about keeping diaries of their moods or feelings which can assist in revealing hidden, unconscious patterns - daily notes keeping track of emotional triggers that occur, and have an unbalancing effect. This is actually a kind of journaling I've not done much of, but would certainly consider if I found myself being bouced about by submerged emotional energies.

Fascinating. I've kept a diary on and off since 1986 and transcribed them into DayOne a couple of years ago. It was an enlightening project, although I did get lost in it for a while and had trouble coming back.

The journal I kept of my two-month tour of North America at the age of 21 with two pals is hilarious!

I had to incidents in my life where my diary was read, both times by a current girlfriend. It seemed invasive at the time, but looking back it really wasn't. Although I don't let loose with 100% in my current diary, sometimes using trigger words, you get me?

Hey @camuel, that must have been quite a bit of work typing it all up! I'm doing a bit of that at the moment and enjoying going back in time. It helps to touch-type of course :).

I take it you mean something like writing in some kind of code? There were times when I'd do stuff like write in German, but in the Devnagri (Hindi) script for the sentence, para, page etc that I'd want to hide - doubt if any of that will make it onto Steemit 😚 😚 😚.

Thanks for stopping by and reading. I see you've only just come on board the Steem experience, welcome! It's a great place to be and I wish you lots of luck.

Hiya Barge

I went to a boarding-school in India, and was utterly terrified of having my diary discovered, read and ridiculed.

I can relate to this (not the boarding school part). My mum found my teenage diary. After this I lost my flow and honesty on the page. It was devastating.

Anyway, I'd love to read excerpts from the diaries you wrote during your travels.

Nowadays, the entries into my note-books are relatively few

Same – but for me it's usually when I'm going through an emotional or confusing time. It helps me sort out what's going on. It's like spilling it out on the page helps to unravel the tangled mess.

Thanks for sharing this. I'm excited to read in the future.

Cheers
Anj :)

PS Happy 100th :D

PPS I hope you'll come over to our Discord channel for a chat and to meet the others there. We're a mixed bag, all working together to build a quality community and reach a wider audience. You'd be most welcome. Here's the link if you're interested:

Crypto Empire

Hi Anj, thanks for stopping by - a delight to read your comment!

My mum found my teenage diary. After this I lost my flow and honesty on the page. It was devastating.

I'm sorry to hear it :( ...if I had experienced that trauma and humiliation I'm sure it would have killed diary-writing for me. I was such a super-sensitive and self-conscious teenager (vestiges still remain, eg my observation of a shyness/run-away-from-spotlight type reaction to your gracious invite, which I have accepted, thank you :).

spilling it out on the page helps to unravel the tangled mess

...like 'automatic writing', which can bring content of the unconscious to light, yes agree.

It's been great for me spending time expressing myself on steemit - I am also noticing quite a bit of stirup in how I'm organising myself and my time. I am finding elements of 'addiction', but I am also getting 'high' :) Cheers for the 100th wish, and for your interest in my diaries, I look forward to going through them too.

Namaste

[edit]: I think the invite has expired.

HIya

I'm glad you accepted the invite. Yay. I clicked on the link and then had to refresh it to get the Discord app to boot up. Have you got Discord? I'm not very teckie when it comes to things like this. Dunno where it's gone wrong :S

Ah, the agony of self-consciousness. I went though all that too. Managed to shift it in the end thankfully :D

Yes, it's pretty addictive, this place. I hope to see you in the crypto empire.
I'll post my link again here. Maybe it only works with my banner attached.


Crypto Empire

If that doesn't work, please let me know and I'll ask one of the teckie members to send you a better invite.

Cheers
Anj :D

Thanks Anj 💚

Hi Barge.
I finally worked it out. I've sent you a real, everlasting invite in the DM. Sorry for the confusion. I'm dumb lol

cheers
Anj x

wow I really liked reading this. I wish I had kept my journals.. I got all overly dramatic at maybe 17 and trashed almost all my "dairies" and old photos.. I still regret doing that. :-[

Thanks AS, I'm happy you did :-D

What a massive statement you made at 17! When I've imagined such things it was accompanied by intense anger and self rejection. Grateful not to have acted on it!

Here's some love to young AS xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34