He Who will not be Tamed

in #writing6 years ago

Imgur

Part 1

“A new day is dawning indeed, the Dream is ended, and we can reform this city.”

The three of them, all in a room together, the last witnesses to the Yellow Magic of the dictator. The Rebel, the Queen, and the Mage were holding court in an old abandoned building on the outskirts of the city’s industrial district.

“Lione.”

“Sara. Daniel.”

“Screw you.”

“Daniel!”

“What? Oh, Lione and I are old friends. In fact, last time we hung out, he tortured me.”

“Are you here to return the favor, Dreamwalker?”

“That’s enough.”

“Sorry Lione, the Blue Queen is a bit of a spoilsport.”

Lione cringed, Sara flinched slightly. She was unused to her title but not ashamed of it. He looked at her as she sat, studied her, met her gaze and probed it deep. She looked back at him and revealed nothing. Finally he spoke.

“It’s ‘queen’ now, eh offworlder? Well, I suppose congratulations are in order.”

“Don’t think I did not hear you spit those words out, Lionheart.”

Lione looked to Daniel now. He stood by Sara’s side. His eyes glowed with the power he held, the Book of Dreams slung on a chain on his shoulder.

“I care not how you know my name. I am not afraid of you.”

“I said enough.”

Both men dimmed in the wake of the Queen’s command. Something more than words compelled them to heed her.

“Lione, you asked me to aid you when we had a common enemy. You and I could not fight together then, but I hope that we can build together now. This city, our city, yours and mine, it needs us, it needs people who have a vision of what it was before the dictator Creed and what it could be after him. Please, Lione, we have few allies and much labor.”

Lione looked back to Sara. She was earnest. In fact, it seemed to Lione that she could not lie. Perhaps she would be a just Queen. If such a thing was ever possible.

“You have backed me into a corner, your highness. My organization is dismantled, the people I protected look to you now.”

“There is no more war Lione, at least no need of any. Peace will be far harder to build.”

“The people all...are convinced...of…”

“They are convinced that progress is being made, Lionheart.”

“Progress? They have traded one dream for another!”

“Lione, please, we are setting things right. There will be no need of dreams when we are done. You know I hate illusions as much as you. Please, help me cast them off.”

“Sara, it is my turn to turn away. You both know I do not share your memory. I was born under the heel of the old world. I would not see it built anew.”

“Lione, look, I want to put the past behind us, this is bigger than-”

“Spare me your diplomacy Dreamwalker! The past is carved in stone and I walk in its groove to the future.”

They were all silent then. The question was clear to all: the city could not hold all of them. Lione spoke first.

“I love these people. Do not forget them, Blue Queen. Do not forget why this city was built in the first place. Because I love them I will leave them. I will not wage war with you.”

“Well, that’s as close as an endorsement as we might ever get, Sara.”

“Make no mistake, I mean to return. My judgement is held till then.”

Lione Lionheart turned, lifted a pack he had there already readied, and left. Sara and Daniel were left alone.

Imgur

Fire. Fire and smoke. Fire and smoke and ash. Ash choked down and dampened the fire and then there was no more smoke and no more ash. Then the fire burned up again. In the moments between the fire’s death and rebirth, there was a figure seen in the flame. A woman. A tall, pale woman with golden hair. She reached out from the flame and spoke.

“Save me” she said “free me”.

I can’t, the flames are too tall.

She knelt down and covered her face. Her hair was set on fire though she seemed not to notice. The pulsing flame took her figure entirely. No, there she was again. Or perhaps not. Perhaps, she was the flame and the flame was her.

“Why do you let yourself be caged, Lionheart?”

I am not caged. The trees are my home and the stars are my ceiling. I piss where I please.

The flames grew brighter as the pale woman became less visible, less discernible. There was a growing roar. The fire grew larger eating more of the black night around it. There was far less smoke and no ash. Nothing to keep the fire down. The woman. The pale woman was a prisoner of the fire.

“Why are you a slave to passion?”

Please, it is so hot, let me go.

Lione shattered through his sleep and dove into the cold night air. His campfire glowed as it slowly fell asleep, his blankets were damp with sweat. He stood in the night and got out his spare. The night creatures comforted him with their chaotic chorus. He laid down again. This time he would stare at the stars as he faded. The fire gave him nightmares.

Words mine, images from Pixabay by way of Imgur. Thanks for reading, criticism welcome.

If you would like to read the story thus far, here is the last part of the first chapter, with links to parts 1-4:

https://steemit.com/writing/@bardbarian/reformation

Sort:  

Excellent fiction story, really superb work.😍

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32