Tuck's Raygun Service and Repair

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Tucks raygun service and repair.jpg

"There i was, suspended over magma in a subterranean volcano. With my plasma-ray broken, defeat seemed iminant. Dr. Daunt stepped up to the ledge, looming over me, smiling as he slowly pried the polished stethoscope from his clammy hands...
‘Well... well, looks like our patient is–’
LAAAME’, I interrupted his catchphrase and leapt from the cave-wall towards the magma while Daunt cackled manically. I quickly grasped the cold handle of my freeze-ray, aimed down, and a burst of concentrated beams supercooled the magma below. I landed roughly on the new-formed rock as screams of dissatisfaction and snapping of rubber gloves echoed through the cave. He fled. Luckily Dr. Daunt didn’t notice the tracker I placed on him; I have located his lair. Our next battle will be his last.”

The rest of the store’s patrons were awestruck, and eventually erupted into applause. Tuck didn’t clap. He ran the only certified raygun repair shop in the city, so he got to know the difference between the real big-shots and the ones who just talked big.

“Alright, alright — everyone calm down.” Tuck said, talking over the rambunctious crew. “Lets see your Hero ID, and get you on your way, sir.

The eccentric hero hands Tuck his ID.

Wow, Class S?? Normally my “BS" radar is right-on, but they don’t award Class S rank without some serious accolades, Tuck thought as he swiped the ID through his junky Federation scanner. perhaps he really is some badass.

The Galactic Federation requires any business that handles condensed-plasma or anti-matter to verify a "negative" with the Centralized Villain Register before any sale or service can be provided. A great idea, but what Villain registers with a villain registry? The worst ones don’t get caught until it’s too late, and the small ones go unreported.

“NEGATIVE”, the scanner returned.

“Alright, all set.” Tuck chirped. "Lets take a look at that plasma-ray.”
“The containment chamber was crushed by my nemisis”, said the hero. ”I read online about free replacements?”
“Only if you bought it here and have the receipt.”
“No worries, I have enough 'fed-cred'. Especially if I can trade in this lousy shrink-ray.”
The hero set the shrink-ray on the counter and Tuck examined it.
“It’s pretty busted up, but salvageable… Alright, 800 credits to be on your way with a functional plasma-ray."
“Patch me up, Doc”, the hero said with a wink.

Tuck had the plasma-ray fixed within minutes. “There ya go. Give 'em hell, man. Good luck.” The hero laughed, thanked Tuck, and was on his way.

A few days later, Tuck was cleaning up shop when an urgent news story blared from the holodeck…
“Previously unknown villain, Smashafacenator, rampages with a plasma-ray. Killing 8, and injuring dozens. It appears the lunatic has been using a stolen Class S Hero ID to get his hands on all sorts of restricted tech.
3 Class B hero’s were called to deal with the threat. Although they injured the villain and disabled his plasma-ray, they're faces were pulverized and Smashafacenator remains on the loose. All civilians are urged to stay indoors. Hide your kids; hide your wife.”

Tuck’s stomach imploded with worry. Could I?…. Did I?….

“Upon a scan of the Villain’s weapon, it seems the raygun was repaired at Tuck’s Raygun Service and Repair just a few days ago. Federation officers have been dispatched to apprehend the owner and suspect, Tuck Flennermin. An investigation is underway.”

Tuck’s hands shook as he fumbled for his communicator. Before he even began to think about who he would contact, the hum of Federation spacecraft enveloped the house, and Tuck’s world began to defractalate.
Before long, only darkness remained.
Even time seemed void in this expanse of nothingness.
Tuck waited to materialize before the Federation officials; surely he was beamed to their ship, or worse yet, the citadel.
But nothing happened.
Tuck opened his eyes, he was in bed, knuckles white — wrapped around his pistol.
“Just a dream”, Tuck said as he breathed a heavy sigh of relief and looked out his window.
Even from here, blocks away, he could read the neon sign, “Tuck’s Raygun Service and Repair”.
The clock read 4 am. Just a few more hours till it's time to go back there.
THANK GOD, there’s no Federation. And THANK GOD, the world’s entire plasma-tech business is conducted on Crafty. A trustless and decentralized self-employment system designed to maximize monetization and efficiency while rooting out evil-doers.

There hasn't been any remarkable villainy in years.

FIN.


avesa-BP-content-sep.gif


This has been an entry for the @Originalworks and @crafty writing contest! Thanks for being awesome! May ze best text win!

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@originalworks/140-steem-35-bonuses-sponsored-writing-contest-crafty


alliance pic (shurikin).png

@theAlliance




crafty2018

Sort:  

Reading it was like pressing play button in ma head to a movie!
Awesome description power!

Thank you so much! I worked quite a bit on it. Hopefully I get entered in the contest, lol.
I uploaded and linked everything within minutes of the deadline...

fuck no.gif

I guess it's good practice either way :)

I hope so too!
Your creativity cannot be bagged.
It's too large!

haha you are too kind. Thank you.

thank you.gif

Hahahahahha!
And ya too funny!
What did you think about my story? For the crafty contest

It's good! You know I'm a sucker for going out of the box, but I may have gone too far lol. Yours is informative and inspiring. I wish you good luck sir!

Well...i can say i am a sucker for going out of the box too, but most of the time I don't know what to do to just get out there and sometimes i think i feel scared ...i think

I kinda hate been isolated
Do you understand?

It's got lazers in it, I Love it! Super story, reminded me of this classic
lazerz.gif

Thanks mayne! haha i'm embarrassed I don't know this movie. It already looks awesome. What is it?

You are too young to remember this, when I was a boy this was a cutting edge sci-fi TV series - look up Buck Rodgers in the 21st Century.

haha perfect. I cant wait

omg. it looks amazing. I'm totally gonna start keeping this on in the background haha

Friend, sister of Alliance, I wrapped your story, I captivated your story. Congratulations.
Amiga, hermana de Alliance, me envolvio tu relato,me cautivo tu historia. Felicidades

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69034.43
ETH 3773.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51