You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Training Camps" for the Oppressed

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

"But, if you'd gone to my school or even been in my classroom you'd have a different experience"

Haha I try to be careful about throwing teachers or all administrators under the bus for that reason. Some do really try to do right by the kids and that is good. I see the problem as being a part of the system that is charged with facilitating education. When I went (which was quite some time ago) I found that we were largely treated pretty badly and the excuse for doing that almost always involved some rule or law that was passed down by the upper administration or the state and federal government.

Sort:  

Phew. It's tough saying to people 'I'm a teacher' .. so many have ruined our reputation and continue to do so. It's not the only part of my identity...

One of my BIG priorities as a teacher.. indeed as a person.. is EMPATHY. And that's what a lot of these systems lack. Not my school so much though, of which I'm glad... even though there's a higher authority they too must confirm to.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46