InBetween Story - Chapter 4 (Supernatural Romantic Drama)

in #writing7 years ago

InBetween is a love story like no other. One fateful night, a couples life is changed forever, leaving the question: Is death really the end?

Find previous chapters of "InBetween" on my Steemit Blog.

Inbetween3.jpg

CHAPTER 4

My eyes wouldn’t stay shut. The dream was too real… I looked over at his side of the bed, and as expected, it was empty. I tried to force myself to go back to sleep. “It was just a dream – just a dream,” I told myself. After a few hours of tossing and turning, I finally fell asleep.

The alarm clock next to my bed beeped incessantly. It seemed like the moment I had closed my eyes, it was morning already. I thought about my dream that night as I got dressed. I honestly wasn’t sure how I felt about it. I was slightly creeped out by it, and madly in love with the thought of seeing Thomas again all at the same time.

I started the coffee pot and leaned on the counter, inhaling the aroma of the fresh coffee brewing beside me. Dirty dishes sat on the counter-top from the night before, so I decided to tidy-up the kitchen while I waited for my coffee. I started placing dishes into the dish washer and swept the kitchen one more time with my eyes. Thomas’s coffee mug sat in the sink.

What is happening? I thought to myself with confusion. I had put his coffee cup away months ago because It made me sad every time I saw it in the cupboard.

“Hello!?” I demanded. “This isn’t funny!”

Anger struck me. Someone must be playing a joke on me. Tears welled up in my eyes as I searched the house frantically.

“Hello!?”

I couldn’t imagine who would do such a thing. Though the gesture of leaving his cup in the sink seems small, it hurt me.
Flashbacks of all those mornings he left his coffee mug in the sink forced their way back in my mind. I thought about how I had nagged him to clean up after himself each time, and now wish that I hadn’t. It was such a small thing really. He was good in so many other ways – I could have let that one flaw go.

I sat down on the floor and cried.

When my grief subsided, I wondered how that coffee cup got in the sink. Part of me fantasized the possibility that it really could have been him. I shook the thought and picked myself up off the floor. I walked into the kitchen to pour myself a cup. The pot was half empty…and there was Tom’s cup resting on the counter next to the coffee maker, full of coffee.

“T-thomas?”


More Chapters Coming Soon

Thanks for reading! :) Follow me to never miss a chapter :)


Steemit banner image 1.jpg

Sort:  

great post , i love romantic literature , following you :)

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed the chapter! :)

Again a nice post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64