You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thought Bubble Thursdays #3 - The One Where We Talk About Legacy

in #writing7 years ago

Interesting, though I am more of a DC guy.

Recently there was/is a Supergirl tv series. Most of it is okay, but when they started to change things to make their series interesting to what they think is their new market, they lost me.

The girl who is her adopted sister was never a lesbian, but now she is. Superman's friend, Jimmy Olsen, is a redhead with freckles and has the personality to suit...so...now he is black, but with a personality of a redhead? Anyway, he was never a reporter, he is the guy who takes the photos.

Some years ago they changed Supes into some mod version, but luckily changed him back.

Whether the companies like it or not, there must be some kind of continuity and changes justified, or else we stop 'believing' in their characters.

Sort:  

Interesting, though I am more of a DC guy.

Don't get me wrong, man. I'm a 10-1 Marvel guy, which means that for every 10 Marvel characters I like, I like 1 DC character. Put simply, I'm not 100% Marvel haha

Recently there was/is a Supergirl tv series. Most of it is okay, but when they started to change things to make their series interesting to what they think is their new market, they lost me.

Haha! Funny you mentioned that! The TBT for this week actually includes that heavily so you might want to tune in for that. It would be interesting to read your thoughts about it. As for the nitpick, yeah I'm still on the fence about the change to Jimmy Olsen. He has always been portrayed as a good sidekick, so the change really makes it hard to believe he ever was. The character was terribly miscasted, and I feel like they should've written him out some time ago. They tried to make him a love interest, but it never really worked. Now, he has very little going for him.

As for the sister, I'm actually okay with her being a lesbian. Because, you know, I think they're making her into the live action version of Kate Kane (aka Batwoman). Everything fits so far. Lesbian, Maggie Sawyer's girlfriend, martial arts skills.

As for Supes, yeah, I'm glad they changed him back. They try to make him hip, and they completely missed the point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80