You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Thirteenth Proxy, Chapter 1

in #writing7 years ago

I came back in time to start here, at the first and probably most important episode - unless the last one is.

I was thinking, as I read, personae like Avery are usually created to stir our emotions in a negative way. You, on the other hand, have linked us to her, so that we identify with her as a person - despite your description of lines across her face, her porcelain skin and red eyes - which made her blood an important aspect of the story, cementing our bond as we think of her being in that critical way a human. "Cut me and do I not bleed?"

Still, what bonds me to her is her reluctance to take lives and the fact that she treasures her own and is willing to fight for it - living as we do in a society where most people have given up, her courage and determination is refreshing and an example.

Okay, I'm pro-Avery for now, I just hope she does not let me down....

Sort:  

That is a lovely description of Avery. She has many sides, but she wants to be human. She was human, in another life, which you'll see as the story develops.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58566.25
ETH 2542.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48