The Step Forwards - An extended tiny story

in #writing6 years ago

The decision had already been made. The thoughts were running through my head as I was thinking of all of the life which had lead to this point. The painful memories of family, lost friends from childhood, mistakes with love, all wrong decisions which ended up to doing more harm than good.

However, it all lead to this point.

This would be the turning point, leaving it all behind. I felt how heart pounding in my chest as I grabbed tighter on the suitcase I had with me, hoping nobody would see how my body was trembling with fear from uncertainty. I had gone almost white and I felt the drops of sweat running from my face as this was the biggest decision in my life so far.

However if I hadn't done it now, I wouldn't have done it ever.

It was noisy at the airport and people were running past as I stared at the screen. Some flights were delayed but it wouldn't affect my plans. I had the ticket already in my pocket and my passport with me. Even though almost everyone seemed to be focused in getting to their own flights, the amount of noise was overwhelming. People were talking loud constantly, announcements were made from the loudspeakers, cafés and small shops were playing their advertisements to attract people in them.

Not sure why cafés would need those, as the smell of coffee was strong in the air.

There was no time for coffee though, as I started to take steps towards the correct terminal. I didn't have any fancy shoes or clothes on me, but neither were most of the others either. Only the ones heading for fancy holiday trips, but the rest of us looked like we were happy in a life with mediocrity. It was like the airport was built for the mediocre, as everything from the floor to ceiling was everything else than fancy.

But the airport is not a piece of art, it's a mere tool.

I reached my terminal as I was following a man with a bright green coat for the most of the way. It was easier to navigate further by following someone, it gave a direction even though the goal wasn't the same. The boarding had already started so I stepped in the queue behind a middle-aged woman. Everyone in the line were silent and I could see how it was already getting dark outside. The last rays of sun were still visible in the distance and the sky was in different shades of purple and blue.

Soon it would be dark. I would have all the time to sleep in the plane.

As the queue moved forwards, I was still the last one in the line. It was only a few minutes and it was my turn. I handed over my boarding pass. Everything started to feel real and I could feel how all the fears were suddenly fading away. Behind all the negative thoughts, hope was stepping up.

With a faint smile, I took my suitcase and I boarded the plane to my new life.

airport594208_1280.jpg
Image from Pixabay!

Or as the original short story:
"Decision made, I boarded the plane to my new life."

The chosen short story from my previous contest:
https://steempeak.com/competition/@apsu/tiny-story-contest-win-tiny-prizes-and-get-your-story-overextended

Sort:  

Thanks for choosing my tiny story to expand. I like it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @apsu. Been awhile. Just thought I'd say hi.

Hi to you too! :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91