Poem: "Hate the Living, Love the Dead"

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

“Hate the Living, Love the Dead”


She lies still, desolate in her bed
like a casket. Her arms cross
over her breasts. Hands
on shoulders, silver and gold rings
wrapped like bows around her fingers, thumbs

against her collarbone. I peak in through her window.
Her cheeks, pallid cheeks, once red
bleed into mine, coursing like a fever.
The fever of deceased. The funeral pyre
ignites within. The mourning

is for the morning, I yearn
for her blizzard kiss, her arctic
fingertips. I cloud the window
and pound the glass. The cadaver
whips off the sheets

rolls out to her feet—staring at me
like I’m the ghost. Her eyes squint
and her feet stagger back. “I’m still alive. Too bad,
I’m beautiful,” I think she says, but it’s difficult
to read lips. I didn’t know the cold rings

that I’d feel would enclose around my wrists
and the words she inaudibly screamed were,
“I’m calling the cops.” Months later, in a courtroom,
some woman in a pinstripe suit asks me questions
to which I respond with shrugs. This woman mentions

some girl’s name in the same sentence
with the word plaintiff. I reply, “Who?”
Weeks later, in a cell, I hold a needle dripping black
staining my murder-blue jumpsuit. The yells and shrieks
in the hall could paralyze the deaf. I’d complain, but I’m

breathing. The volume of their voices lowers with each puncture
against my forearm inscribing: Contemno Victus Diligo Silenti.
My cellmate peers at my arm and points. “The hell’s that
supposed to mean anyway?” I stab myself
deeper and mumble,


Sort:  

Congratulations @andrewfleming! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @sunravelme.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60606.72
ETH 2910.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44