Become the Haiku Master! - Steemit Writing Contest

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Thanks in large part to @kryptik's fantastic Six Word Story contest, I've decided to host my own writing contest.

Rather than being a short story or flash fiction contest, though, I've decided instead to have a haiku-writing competition. I've always admired the haiku as a poetic form; it's simplicity and structure are beautiful, and the way the message flows from beginning to end has always been particularly pleasant to me to read. Since I haven't seen too many haikus out here on Steemit, I think it's time to flex your creative muscles and pump some out!

Contest Rules:

All SBD earned by this post will be paid out to the winners of the contest. There will be rewards paid out for the first, second, and third place winners. First place will win 60% of the SBD earned, second place will win 30%, and third place will win 10%. If this posts garners less than 20 SBD in terms of pay out, I will pay 12 SBD to the first place winner, 6 SBD to the second place winner, and 2 SBD to the third place winner

All entries will be judged by myself, @gonzo, and @kryptik. We will select the top three and rank them as first, second, and third place winners. We're not judging content so much as how that content is presented in haiku form, so please, feel free to write about whatever you'd like!

I will also offer a 2 SBD reward to my favorite haiku entry that is not one of the winning entries.

Entry Rules:

  • All entries must be submitted in the comments section to be considered: Leave a separate comment for each haiku you want to submit. We might have a little fun with them if they're intended to be funny, but only top-level comment entries will be considered for the contest; sub-comments won't be considered unless you repost them as top-level comments.
  • As far as subject matter, anything goes: Write about anything. Leaves, your dog, a fictional star system; literally anything. Hell, if you want to write about a plastic bag flapping in the wind, you can!
  • Keep it clean: The only thing I ask as far as subject matter goes is no explicit erotica. Otherwise, you can be as R-rated as you want to be.
  • Multiple entries per person: Write as many haikus as you want!

Have fun with the contest! I hope you all enjoy the challenge, and I am really looking forward to all of your creations!


Quickly they pursued,
Whisper quiet through the green sea.
Glory lay ahead!

Sort:  

"Fuck (n.);" -


Mind amuck with trash,
Backwards is the hearth within;
Lost in this time-space.

Some say stuck, what luck;
Others chuckle, shrug it off;
Elephant ballet.

Couch locked on football
Stoned on Sunday afternoon
Where did the day go?

Avenue of limes,
Carelessly dip-dyed in fall,
Fading majesty.

Just when I thought I could live again,
the wind blew me off.
The dark had always been waiting.

Haiku is 3 lines of specific syllables - 5/7/5

Her new Beardsley print
China cups with Scotch whiskey
An unanswered phone

I had pooped my pants,
But that didn't stop gonzo.
Here, smell my finger!

What is it with you and fucking fingers, man?

Want some finger food ?
I made it special for you,
It is delicious!

Tick tock tick tock sproing
Damaged beyond all repair.
{insert line using the word finger}

last line may be better if it's finger licking good?

That is what I was about to write
great minds... my friend

It's just a funny line
And it fit the the right amount
of syllables, see.

lm()ao ... oh ()orget it, lol

Really, I killed him?
You mean that is a woman?
Take that you bully!

Staring at a clock,
Waiting for the grass to grow;
Human persistence.

The season sounds retreat
I see remorse in ancient mirror
In deep deep dreaming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81