What Power Do You Have in Other People's Lives? Here's a story of power...

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

Possessed by the Ghost

We move, we go.
Walking, moving, going... faster.
Passing.
Just barely crashing... into one another.
Occasionally tripping on uneven pavement squares or rectangles,
stepping on gum, or feces.
One time I walked into a pole so blindly, so hard, that I heard that chinese drum sound that you'd know in a cartoon... and the stars to match.

One humid summer day that was intermittently showered with rain, I horse clotted my feet among the many other clotters on main. We passed downtown stores without a glace; blurs of people not dissimilar to a photographer effect.

My bubble was thick; a wall; bricks.
I looked up only a moment- or, would have been a moment had you not caught my eye with your eyes. A woman drastically out of by social sphere- demographics, psychographics... appearing drastic.

I did not know you.
Why were you smiling at me so genuinely? So excessive? So lingering?

You would not release those tightened muscles until I reciprocated.

I reciprocated genuinely.

But...
I did not know you.
I did not know you until that very moment when the faint sun suddenly ripped through my bubbles and bricks.

Blurs manifested into sharp shapes and colours with faces.
You passed yet, my smile had not faded.
I was infected by your virus and each passing person became victim to a smile- now possessing my face.

I did not know you ...
But since that day I forever pass the ghost of you.
A woman, a stranger, a virus that taught me one of the greatest lessons I have and will ever learn-

The power of a smile.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank You!! This is beautiful. I am honored you thought of me. Thank you for sharing this with me!!!

and yes, A smile can save someone's life. The best part is they are free to give away, they don't hurt and you never know how far that one smile can go.

"Power" hides in the smallest places sometimes. She's sneaky. 🐀

Posted using Partiko Android

So true, it costs nothing to make a person smile, yet it is worth more than what any money can buy at certain moments in ones life.

engine dropped this in #PYPT, the poetry is awesome. even though I feel the pain with this.

Posted using Partiko Android

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT

Thank you. I am trying to post others but I want to enter them in contests which I've been unable to find (poetry related).

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful btw, I read this several days ago but did not comment. Hopefully some of the people on pypt like it as much as I did and thank you @snook for showing it to me😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you Engine!! I had noticed you shared it (I got a sudden uproar of upvotes and had to source the reason). Thank you for the state and thank you Snook. 💞

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank @snook, she's the one turned me on to your blog over here😎

!SHADE 3

Posted using Partiko Android



Hi anaclark the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

!SHADE 4
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday

Wow! I like this one. I wish I met that woman today.. 😞😞

Thank you. People are always there you just have to look up 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello! :D

I love this story, its beautiful, simple yet powerful at the same time. :D

As @snook always says and you said in your post, a smile can go a long way, share one with someone today. :D That's why I include lots of smiles ":D" in my posts each day. :D

God bless you. :D Have an awesome day! :D

Thank you for the great comment and support. Thank you for the reminder. I'm going to deliberately smile ☺ at someone today for you, from you because of this wonderful reminder. 🎁

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome. :D Awe, that is wonderful, thank you for sharing a smile on my behalf. :D I hope it makes the person you share it with have a fabulous day. :D

God bless you. :D Have an awesome day my friend! :D

This post is supported by $0.1 @tipU upvote funded by @thehive :)
@tipU voting service: instant, profitable upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 4.12% upvote from us for your 503 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Such a wonderful poem! I've been meaning to check out a post of yours since you joined SteemTerminal recently, but had not done so yet. Then, @enginewitty shared the link to this poem during the PYPT curation show. It is a wonderful piece of writing!

I love how you set the scene... walking, uneven pavement, gum, feces, pole, drum, equating the trudging to horses clomping... then the shattering of your bubble, your wall, the woman, the smile, the virus... infected! What a great story, all rolled into a delightful poetic form! Love it! Bravo! 😃

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi thekittygirl the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37