Sad Songs, Lament Singing, The Blues and Sacred Music as a Tool for Emotional Healing Part 1

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

As far back as I can remember, I’ve always loved sad songs. I’ll take a B-side ballad over a hit single any day of the week. I like songs that tell stories and make me feel a little funny inside. If a song moves me to tears, I know it’s got some emotionally nutritive substance to it. These songs of suffering, heartbreak and loss are both disturbing and captivating, a combination of feelings that I am strongly attracted to but until recently, couldn’t tell you why exactly.

The quality of Leonard Cohen’s writing has that deep melancholia that I crave but his voice, though one of my favorites, lacks the tones that effectively move me to tears. It turns out there is a good reason for this.

A while back, I stumbled across an article that talked about the qualities of Adele’s voice that move so many people and that how a voice that sweeps from low to high notes creates appoggiaturas, dissonant notes within a chord that create tension and release, triggering a strong emotional reaction.

It is my goal to find the songs from our collective history that lyrically connect to a deep place of sadness and to perform them in a way that serves the song and the listener. This is important work to me as I feel that sad music has sacred roots and deserves more recognition than it currently receives in our modern society.

The Finnish tradition of lament singing is a combination of heavyhearted songwriting and woeful singing that allows the vocalist to express their sorrow and encourages them to shed all those those pent up feelings of grief and loss. The music is performed in a kind of a folk style, where anyone can join in and there is less attention placed on a singer’s technical skill and more emphasis on emotional quality and release. Imagine getting together with a close group of friends, singing the saddest songs you can think of, snotting all over yourself, eating delicious hot food, singing some more, crying some more and then just going back about your day like nothing happened. I seriously love this concept so hard. Am I the only one who thinks this sounds friggin awesome?!?!

From the death of a loved one, the loss of a lover, a soldier watching his comrades fall in battle, or the German Kindertotenlieder songs for dead children, there are so many story-songs that showcase the deep roots of music as a modality of emotional healing. A fairly recent example is blues music. Originating as call and response chants from slaves working in fields and chain gangs lamenting their back-breaking hard work and oppression. The blues gave a little solace in what are entirely cruel and unforgivable circumstances. The extreme suffering endured by the slaves gave birth to a form of music that shaped the entire trajectory of American music. All of country, rock & roll, jazz, hip hop and rap was born from this collective suffering.

This is sacred music.

People who have suffered deeply and brought music, poetry, art and innovation into the world are like our cultural mothers and their work is sacred. Childbirth is fucking painful. I’ve never done it myself but my mom showed me some pictures once and I’m still traumatized. Our mothers had to sacrifice themselves, their autonomy, their bodies and sometimes their sanity to bring us into the world. It wasn’t fucking easy but they did it so we could be here. I suggest that artists are no different. Most of the greatest works of art were born out of suffering.

You don’t have to suffer to create art, but then again if you aren’t somewhat tormented, you are likely to end up producing something with the saccharin-sweet stylings of pop music and culture that has lots of glitter and fizz but no substance. No nutrition. There is nothing wrong with eating candy occasionally, but it is not good for you to eat everyday and does not a meal make. Lets find music and art with meat too it, maybe even a little gristle and fat.

I invite you to please share your favorite sad songs, singers and stories that rouse those deeper, darker emotions. It is my goal to find the saddest pieces and sing them in a style that connects emotionally with the material and uses appoggiaturas to create that emotional reaction that we all need to shed those tears.

xoxo,
Amanda

Sort:  

My friends think I am old school when I say no "pop", contemporary Christian musician leaves me feeling like Rich Mullins does. I jam Fela, Bob Marley, Danny Gans, Masekela, Nina, Fugees and ilks. I believe too music is useless if it can't make me feel something. This is such a beautiful post, and an amazing performance to go with it. I will resteem this and follow you right away.

P.S. And I am having fun with the further readings you hyper-linked.

Thank you so much for your comment and upvote. I am so glad to hear that I am not alone in my sentiments. I followed you back as well and I am looking forward to seeing some of your storytelling posts. Take care!

Sad songs define my breath, my existence, my life. It's dark, it's twisted, it's me.

I invite you to please share your favorite sad songs, singers and stories that rouse those deeper, darker emotions

"Everything Costs" by Radical Face.

I definitely feel ya on that. Thank you for the musical suggestion. I'll add it to my playlist.

Upvote and followed do follow me thanks. Stay blessed.

Thank you very much ;-)

I was touched by your voice, even without speaking the same language, music makes you feel in your heart what the mind can not understand.

Absolutely. Music is a language all its own and connects our brain in ways that we don't fully understand. My step-father's father has severe dementia and is non-verbal and grumpy most of the time. The other night I pulled out my guitar and sang some old country songs. The moment I started singing, he threw his hands in the air, contorted his face and then started smiling and making eye contact with me and other people in the room. For a few minutes, it's like he came back.

Amanda , you move me to move myself from happy to melancholy on a limited basis. I try to feel the vibrations of the earth that surround me , you bring a curtain of joy in a strange way. Felling this i salute you for your honesty. much peace , ONE LOVE

@geraldgunia. I'm glad to have inspired you somewhat. It is impossible to be happy all the time and it is important to honor feelings of sadness. Suppression of the "negative" aspects of human emotion lessens the opportunity to experience pure joy as well. It takes a great deal of energy to maintain a positive vibration and attitude when circumstances, experiences and hormones/ chemicals are dragging us down. Safe and controlled expressions of grief are opportunities to purge those emotions and create more room for joy, love and gratitude.

Ah what a beautiful post! Your voice is haunting. The funeral dirge is such an ancient human custom, cutting across a very wide swathe of disparate cultures. Interesting to hear the term "appoggiaturas", was not familiar with it but intuitively I know this concept to be true. BTW as I type this, my one year old is sitting next to me listening to you sing and he just started singing along :)

I wish you good luck in your quest to find and record the saddest songs! This kinda feels like someone should make a documentary about you and this process as well.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

Yes, I agree. You can also say: "Amanda Richards is an award-winning songwriter, entertainer and playwright from Portland, OR where she performs regularly with her band, The Good Long Whiles." More info can be found at www.amandarichards.net

Thank you!

Oh hey Portland :) I am down in Eugene/Springfield. I will let you know when the Showcase post is up, usually the wee hours Wednesday night / Thursday AM

Great! Thanks so much! I'll follow you so we can stay in touch. I met some peeps from Eugene at a Portland Steemit Meetup a couple of weeks ago. Maybe I'll catch him you in person sometime ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67731.65
ETH 3780.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51