The Gift

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

What Cathy had to say about the gold purse I gave her on her birthday. 👇

44332000_305957000234276_640084082838994944_n.jpg

The Gift

I was so surprised to receive it --
honestly, I could hardly believe it.
He already does so much for me,
and already gives so much of himself so freely,
that when he called me to his room,
little did I assume
what he had planned to share with me --
an experience that will always stay in my memory.

The day I received that backpack of gold
was one that really broke the mould.
It was shiny and metallic -- my favourite!
Such a beauty, it almost felt extravagant.
Me, worthy of such a gorgeous, feminine thing?
It made me happier than anything.
I hugged him tight to express my delight --
my dumbfoundedness must have been quite the sight.

He was thoughtful enough to film my reaction, from start to finish --
ensuring that my memory of the moment would never diminish.
Everything about that bag was next level,
and it made my birthday super-special.
He really considered everything about me to choose it,
and I feel so special every time I use it.
And, even though he thought I didn't like the colour gold,
I actually loved the shade he chose.

The thing about the gifts I receive from him
is that none are given on a whim.
As he slowly revealed his reasons for his selection over time,
I came to appreciate it even more, like one would a fine wine.
'Cause, what no one really understands
is the amount of thought he puts into everything -- how it's all part of a greater plan.
And I appreciate everything I receive,
for I am no longer naive.

When I look at the bag, it reminds me of
how he has shown me nothing but pure love.
And it's this love that I value above all --
that I consider to be my greatest windfall.
And he could give me all the things in the world,
but the greatest gift will always be to be one of his girls.
And so, I thank the universe and him
for allowing him to be my king.

Thank you, my one and only man!

Love,

Your forever woman 💋


Read Cathy's previous poems through the links below:
How great-fulness feels
unLock'd
My Magic Man
Treasure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67917.78
ETH 3516.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72