Writing Short Story // New Year's Ring

in #writing6 years ago


I still sat stunned here, with the crashing of the waves, and the sky with its orange tinge. I like the sensation of the Almighty grace in this place. Plus I have just been issued from high school with the highest score in the province of West Java, really the perfect thing. Yes, perfect for people looking from the outside, but not from my point of view. Maybe I am successful in the academic field, but not with the heart.

We talk about Rangga, the son of a close friend who lives with us. The reason why daddy invited him to stay with us was because both parents had died 3 years ago due to an accident in the new year. He was lucky because he could still survive the terrible accident.

His presence in this house became a friend to Kaspian, the only older brother I had, as well as being a discussion friend for our school assignments. We happen to attend the same place, with the same class, and the same classroom, but not for the seat.

"Fold here, keep this one, keep pulling. Finished! It's just to be released to the beach soon, "I cheered because I had just finished my paper boat.

I did bring paper and a pen when I wanted to come here. I have always poured all my complaints through writing, then made the paper I wrote into a paper boat so it wouldn't get caught, then released it to the beach.

"Bianca," a voice surprised me.
"Rangga, just worry. Who do you think it was, suddenly called. "
"Sorry, Bi. Eh, what is that? "Asked Rangga.
"What, Ga? There's nothing, "I hid the paper boat I was holding. I'm sure he saw this before.
Rangga tried to find my hand, and seized the boat. And he got it.
"Just a paper boat, I guess what. You, just like that, use confidentiality, "said Rangga. Then he returns it.
"This is not an ordinary paper boat, Ga. This paper boat contains all my complaints, "I said, holding the paper boat tightly.
"So you confide on the paper? Every day? "He asked. I nodded.
"It's just fine that you often sit here, while carrying paper with pens. I think you want to write a short story, you like to write something like that, "said Rangga.
"And release it to the beach. Do you want to try? "I handed out a sheet of paper and pen.
Rangga quickly picked it up. He wrote something and folded the thin object quickly. "Oh God, what did he write there?" I muttered to myself.

We both walked to the beach. We took off our paper boats there. I hope this paper boat not only relieves our feelings, but also grants our hope.

"Bianca, go first, let's watch. The program starts around three hours, "said Rangga.
"Bro," I replied.
Rangga walked towards the house.

My watch shows nine o'clock. Three hours before the new year of 2014. I chose to enter my room, even though at that time Rangga invited me to watch a horror movie. Actually I intend to continue my short story that has not been completed, but unfortunately I fell asleep at that time.

I woke up, but these eyes didn't seem to open yet. There is a hand that warmly stroked my head. I heard a faint sound. I let the hand in my head, listening to his voice. Suddenly Rangga said something that felt like it would choke me.
"I love you for a long time, Bianca," he said while stroking my cheek.
Then he woke me from sleep which felt good but shocking at the end. I pretend I just woke up from sleep. A sweet smile on Rangga's thin lips welcomed me. I immediately shot from the bed and smoothed my appearance a little messy.
"Come on out, it's starting to get crowded," Rangga said. He reached out his hand.
"Oh no, this grip makes me feel like it's going to melt, like ice cubes on a fire," I muttered as I welcomed his hand.

Once we arrived outside, we joined the others. We sat near the Kaspian, but Rangga asked me to sit next to him, even he hadn't let go of this grip. As soon as midnight, Rangga pulled me to a rather quiet place.
"Bi, this is for you," he said half standing while holding out a ring.
"The ring is beautiful, but what is this for?" I asked after gaping for a long time with a stunned stun.
"Yes, this ring is beautiful, as beautiful as you. "For my love for you, Bianca," Rangga said smoothly. He put the ring on my ring finger.
"I love you, Bianca. I want you to be with me forever, "
Without saying a word, I immediately hugged Rangga's body. What I wrote on the paper boat was immediately answered by God. I really feel lucky and happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52