How I got into writing stories.

in #writing7 years ago

I never planned to start writing, at school I was terrible at English and it wasn't something I really enjoyed. All that stuff about grammar and punctuation went right over my head so I stuck to reading.

Fast forward almost 40 years and I'm on Facebook playing some daft scifi game and a friend I made on the discussion boards suggested I write a story based on my posts there. Now this guy is super smart, a professor in International Law who has published books and is known around the world in his sphere. When someone like that says write a story then you take notice.
So began my writing, a daft story I posted onto a Facebook page as I wrote it and friends there began to urge me to look into publishing it.
So began my trip into self publishing and the birth of The Alienbutt Saga.

That was a bit of a disaster as I didn't know anything about drafts and editing so the first version released on the world was bad. That was when I met Michelle Gent and her husband Trevor who saw past the mess of my story and the potential that the story held. They both run Gingernut Books and sent me back to rework my story and I was given advice on how to make my car crash of a story into a working story. Over the years Michelle has taught me so much about writing and how to build my stories.

I don't claim to be an author but I think I can tell a story.

@michelle.gent is an author and her stories are up there with any of the top traditional authors, you can check them out here on steemit where she was posting them. More than that she is an amazing person who will always work to help others. For someone starting out in writing with no clue you couldn't have a better guide to help you along.

I've now released three books and about five short stories and while I'm not a world famous name I'm happy to know my books have sold in every continent apart from Antarctica, I've even got my books in Libraries in Australia.
Not too bad for someone who never set out to write a story.

BOOK COVERS10-001.jpg

Sort:  

That make me feel better, as Michelle keeps slapping me around the head...

I so agree with you about Michelle - she's totally awesome! And I have to admit that (even though I'm not a sci-fi fan) I've been reading your books and enjoying them! Write On! :)

Don't tell anyone but I prefer Fantasy books to Scifi.

My favourites include British Mysteries - in books and on television. We have a channel called "Knowledge Network" here in British Columbia, Canada - every weekend evenings are awesome shows, which is basically my tv watching for the week, lol. My favs are Midsummer Murders, Inspector Morse and Silent Witness .... love them!

Oh now you've done it!

There goes the street-cred! ;)

You're a talented Author and it's about time you accepted that as fact! :)

I'll stick to story teller, author is far too serious a name.

that is not bad at all! I am also very much into fantasy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59531.52
ETH 2678.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43