You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Star WarTs (Science Fiction)

in #writing6 years ago

The Methanotroph Armadillos were my favorite. I am trying to picture them out as I write this. I have liked Pacific Rim, even though it was oversold.
Very pacey story. But I have questions. If the colonists arrived there and found proof of life, especially hostile lifeforms, shouldn't the mission be scrubbed and the next LZ changed? Are the lifeforms spread all over the planet? Was someone analyzing their behavior, maybe they are protecting something or defending themselves. I can only imagine the fictional UN talks back on fictional Earth :D

Leaving your great story aside, this is something we must plan in advance and add it to the Planetary Protection Act BEFORE we start to colonize. Having good contingency plans is paramount. I wouldn't like the future of human life to be just like in the movies, space cowboys and aggressive mining guilds. I think that education and evolution should make us completely different to what we are now, maybe humbling us as a species. I will try to cover this aspect of our own societal future in a later colonization article.

There is a lot in our future. The first colonists will laugh about the science of my articles like we laugh about the original "The War of the Worlds".
I will drop by from time to time to check your writing :D

Sort:  

Ah! Lots of questions, I'm happy somebody shares the same questions I had while writing. I just didn't go on to explain all this because then the story would need to have two more episodes at least. Maybe in the future I'll work on it again and get a more extended version.

I guess real life projects are not executed based on Hollywood scenarios, such fiction is meant to entertain not educate. You are right, we need to learn how to be humble, appreciative and respectful to the world and one another.

And just like you said it, There is a lot in our future and we must shield ourselves with open-mindedness and a solid ethics code.

Thanks a lot for reading and leaving such a wonderful comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67396.07
ETH 3510.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15